Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great cookie icing - the kids had a lot of fun decorating with it (unlike shiny icings that may look great, but dry far too quickly) However, this recipe does NOT make 2 1/2 cups of icing. I increased the recipe by 50% (i.e. 3 cups of confectioners sugar, 6 TBS of butter, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, 3 3/4 TBS of cream...) and I measured the finished icing at 1 1/4 cups of icing. If you actually need 2 1/2 cups of icing, you'll definitely need to increase your measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this frosting for a Valentine's sugar cookie decorating party. It was easy to pipe and delicious! Basically followed the recipe but added a little more cream for easier piping for the kids. It dried nicely and hardens just enough to hold its shape but doesn't get crunchy. I added some cocoa powder to part of a batch to make chocolate and it was awesome! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is the recipe that I have been looking for - just the right consistency. Is there a way to make it a tad bit sweeter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb D4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Used this to frost our Christmas cookies. replaced the buttermilk with regular milk. don't make too far ahead of time. If you are piping place in piping bag and keep warm. We put in the microwave at a low power until they got warm and it worked very well. Stayed great and had many compliments on the cookies, the icing being one of the best parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcableou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was an ok icing recipe...nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
As others have said, this dried WAY too quickly. I ended up thinning it out with more cream and using it as a glaze. I don't know how others say that they have been able to "pipe" this from a bag. It did have good flavor though. Will not be making again :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Best icing recipe without shortening. I used 2% milk and it tasted great. I am sure the cream would make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This worked great. I had to use half & half and it still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreham, New York, USA
Living In: Minot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is the best cookie icing I've used. It tastes really good, and it dries quickly. The only challenge is that it has to be just the right temperature to work with the decorator bag. If it's too hot, it's runny, but if it cools too much, it's like playdough that won't stick to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I liked this frosting because the powdered sugar blended well with the melted butter. I added the cream after I melted the butter. I did used almond extract which gives the frosting a great flavor. The frosting is not a smooth frosting if that is what you are looking for in a frosting. However, the frosting made great looking Christmas tree shaped sugar cookies. I swirled the frosting and added sprinkles and piped on red frosting dots-that looked like small ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States