Butter Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Loved this recipe BUT... Had to reduce the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp-otherwise my bread rises way way too high and falls in the middle (I do live in Utah so that could make a bit of a difference). I did two heaping Tbs of honey because we like our honey wheat bread to be sweet. Also I don't use bread flour-I use unbleached all-purpose and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made exactly as described and with good results. Very enjoyable. I think when I make it again I'll either use more honey or substitute molasses instead for a little stronger flavor. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karla
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very good bread. I doubled the recipe and made in my kitchen center. Added 3 tbsp. gluten and 4 tbsp. ground flaxseed to the doubled amounts. It made 2 nice large hand shaped loaves. I put 2 cups water directly on bottom of oven during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Would not make this again. It was sunken on the top, it was hard, dry and not very flavorful. I have made MANY bread machine breads and I think this was one of the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This bread was quite good. Great texture and moist. I made the recipe as written. Although since I live at high alt. I did use vital wheat gluten, which might have added to the airy texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I didn't have enough bread flour on hand to follow the recipe exactly, so I used 1 c bread flour and 1.5 c whole wheat flour. Instead of a pkg of yeast, I used 2.5 tsp. It was yummy and looked beautiful!!!! Next time, I'm going to experiment with a little bit more honey, as we liked the hint of sweetness in the bread and wanted a little more if it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon66
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this bread. I followed the recipe precisely, but like another reviewer I used the machine only for the dough function. I then punched down the dough and placed it in a lightly greased/floured bread loaf pan to let it rise again. Then I baked it at 330F for about 25 min or until it looked right. Perfect results. No falling in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Tdxw1his bread is super tasty. I did a few modifications though. I used 3/4 cup splenda sugar instead of honey plus 1/2tsp of sugar. Still came out great, but with less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
The best loaf of bread ever thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is my everyday bread now. It's awesome! Not too sweet. Really good toasted with butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States