Butter Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My family & I love this recipe!!!!! What I do with the bread is: I put it in the bread machine(the ingredients in order), let it mix into dough. When it's done w/that stage & going on to rise, I stop it, take the dough out & put it into a greased loaf pan & let it rise for about an hour. After rising, I put the loaf into a 325-350 degree oven & let it bake until it's done(about med. brown). It comes out perfect & tastes delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I doubled the recipe as it is printed. I mixed the dough in our "Kitchen Aid" mixer with the dough hook rather than the bread machine. I added 3 tbsp of wheat gluten, 1/2 cup of 12 grain cereal, and 1/2 cup of bulgher wheat. (Be careful to maintain the correct moisture balance) I let it rise in the mixing bowl for an hour, kneaded it back down and split it into two even loaves. Let it rise in the bread pans for another 40 minutes and then baked at 325 for 35 minutes. This produced about the best whole wheat bread we have ever had. Very flavourful with a definite crunch and great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Adley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havelock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I couldn't resist but to experiment (over time) with this recipe. .75 c water 1 egg 1c wheat flour 1.5c white flour 6 tablespoons honey 1c nuts I was getting dry crumbly bread using fresh flour, reducing the water and adding the egg helps. You might add 1/8c of flour depending on the consistancy of the dough on the 2nd kneeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I loved the Honey taste in this bread, it was GREAT! It didint make a tall loaf and was alittle heavy but was a pleasure to eat it! Next time I will put alittle more yeast into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
This is a great quick and easy bread, not to mention delicious! Great toasted or just as a sandwich. Nothing makes a better smell in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was the best bread I have made yet, it rose perfectly and not a flaw. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Very easy to make, everyone loved it! The only thing is that it sank in the middle. I used less yeast as another reviewer recommended, but it still sank. Still delicious and smelled great while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I followed the advice of the other posters, and changed the amounts of water and yeast a bit. The bread was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
The only thing I like about this bread is that there is no added sugar. This bread came out very dry and dense and way too done on the outside. I agree with another reviewer that I just don't think this bread works in all bread machines. Mine is a Sunbeam. I will stick with my other bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Like some other reviewers my loaf sank terribly in the middle. My edges were also a bit too done. The taste is great. My conclusion after following this recipe exactly is that it must work in some bread machines and not work in others. I have a Black and Decker and it does not work well in there :( Give it a try but don't get your hopes up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States