Butter Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I doubled the recipe as it is printed. I mixed the dough in our "Kitchen Aid" mixer with the dough hook rather than the bread machine. I added 3 tbsp of wheat gluten, 1/2 cup of 12 grain cereal, and 1/2 cup of bulgher wheat. (Be careful to maintain the correct moisture balance) I let it rise in the mixing bowl for an hour, kneaded it back down and split it into two even loaves. Let it rise in the bread pans for another 40 minutes and then baked at 325 for 35 minutes. This produced about the best whole wheat bread we have ever had. Very flavourful with a definite crunch and great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Adley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havelock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I tried this recipe as small rolls rather than a loaf. I let the bread machine do all the mixing and kneading and after the dough had risen I turned it out on a floured surface and used the top of a small glass to cut out small rolls. I baked them in the oven for an eyeballed 13 minutes at around 385. My family really enjoyed them. Soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
The only thing I like about this bread is that there is no added sugar. This bread came out very dry and dense and way too done on the outside. I agree with another reviewer that I just don't think this bread works in all bread machines. Mine is a Sunbeam. I will stick with my other bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I couldn't resist but to experiment (over time) with this recipe. .75 c water 1 egg 1c wheat flour 1.5c white flour 6 tablespoons honey 1c nuts I was getting dry crumbly bread using fresh flour, reducing the water and adding the egg helps. You might add 1/8c of flour depending on the consistancy of the dough on the 2nd kneeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
A great everyday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Like some other reviewers my loaf sank terribly in the middle. My edges were also a bit too done. The taste is great. My conclusion after following this recipe exactly is that it must work in some bread machines and not work in others. I have a Black and Decker and it does not work well in there :( Give it a try but don't get your hopes up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was the best bread I have made yet, it rose perfectly and not a flaw. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Hayes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
the bread fall when it was done or cooking .has good taste i ate 2 peices . but i think i might bake the bread in the oven next time . i dont think bread machine mke good bread or it is our machine .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This bread was easy to make and rose nicely. It would be a good choice for folks looking to work themselves off of white bread. It has a subtle sweetness to it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
this came out great!! I did have to substitute condenced milk (and a bit of extra flour) for the dry milk ingrediant, but it still came out very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States