Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MRSPARKERII
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was perfect. I used about 4 cups of sugar and it was the perfect consistency for piping. I also added 1t cinnamon for chocolate mocha cupcakes with cinnamon buttercream frosting. UPDATE: when I served my cupcakes directly out of the refrigerator, the icing was very dense. In my experience, it's best to pull it out about an hour before serving and allow it to soften a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
WAY TO MUCH SUGAR blech! there was way to much sugar in this recipe and I mixed the icing very well and i could still taste sugar grains in the icing. Not the best icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musa Winxclub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I had never made frosting before and wanted to make home made frosting for my daughter's birthday party. I found that you don't really need to sift the confectionery sugar. I made a batch with milk as directed above and then made another batch with half and half. The consensus around our house was both were good but we preferred the half and half version. It was a little smoother and not so sweet. I also only used 1 teaspoon of vanilla. With those little tweaks, I thought it was perfect. I have been eating left over cupcakes just so I can eat up all the frosting all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Just the right thickness I added Reese's peanut butter cups..... came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
It was Amazing on Cupcakes. I put it in the microwave to soften it and I used extra butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A SuperWhoLockian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It was really good and really sweet even though I only used 2 cups of sugar. It was really nice and creamy, but I forgot the vanilla, I think it was good without it too, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
It got a bit runny and i couldn't just throw it in the bin, so I added more flour, and put it in the fridge, then it got better, I decorated them on cookies, the best, I'm definitely using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent! Added additional sugar to make stiffer for a frosting gun. Need to let it sit up a bit before you use. I put on cooled cupcakes, but the frosting ran on the first ones. By the time I did the last one though, it was setting nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
WAY too sweet, as many of the reviewers said. Delicious frosting and great consistency when you first taste it, but once on cupcakes we couldn't handle how sweet it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love love love this frosting. Added a scoop of whipped cream cheese and cut back on the sugar but added a dash of butter extract. It was awesome on Allie's spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States