Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amystar79
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Great frosting. i used it on top of chocolate cupcakes and it was fantastic. I tinted all different colours and it mixed really well. It was a bit too stiff to work with so i put it in the microwave for 15 seconds and it was slightly more creamy. It holds its shape really well. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amystar79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I just tried this after finding out that I was out of shortening to make the buttercream frosting I usually use for cupcakes/sugar cookies. I am impressed! I used powdered (reconstituted) milk and it still turned out great. It set up quickly and spread wonderfully. I will use this instead of the other since I never really liked tasting the shortening anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
The frosting was tasty, though it was a bit too sweet so I added more butter and less sugar. It was also good with cocoa and melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Nice, basic and dependable butter cream frosting, but just a tad on the sweet side if you use all the powdered sugar called for. I stopped at 3-1/2 cups and found it just right, although as little as 2 cups would have worked too. I didn't measure the milk, as how much you use depends on how you plan to use the frosting, and in my case I piped it, so I'm sure I used less than the recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
My family loves this recipe! It is really simple, fast, and can be used on many different desserts. My family's favorite is to use it on cut-out cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I halved the sugar in this recipe and all my family still said it was way too sweet. It was kind of grainy although I beat it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Bunny Chef
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was so easy!! My cousin and I made this at 2 am to frost a lemon cake. We added lemon extract and yellow food coloring to the frosting, and it was really good! Just make sure you put in enough of the powdered sugar, or it will get a bit runny and drip out the sides of the cake... Still tastes good, but looks kinda weird! Also, I'd recommend sifting the sugar before putting it in the frosting. We didn't do this because we didn't have a sieve handy, but I think it would have eliminated the somewhat gritty texture (that's why I gave it 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good basic butter frosting recipe. I suggest adding the milk and sugar slowly checking for taste and consistency until it reaches your liking. Easy to add ingredients to this icing to make unique flavors. For example, mix in: Cocoa powder = chocolate icing Instant coffee + cocoa powder = mocha icing Lemon juice = lemon icing Lime juice = lime icing (great on coconut cake) Orange zest = orange icing Dollop of Peanut Butter = pb icing Maple Syrup = Maple icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
this is the receipe my mom used for all our cookies, especially at Christmas. You can add food coloring or cocoa. It's the the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is extremely easy to make. I used 4 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 4 1/2 cups. I also used fat free milk. The frosting is very sweet but delicious. I recommend not making the frosting ahead of time. The frosting gets this weird textured if sitting to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywifehappylife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States