Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
this is the receipe my mom used for all our cookies, especially at Christmas. You can add food coloring or cocoa. It's the the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
I think I did it wrong, it came out way too sweet and not very buttery tasting. Easy to make tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Hyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
It is a very easy recipe and the kids loved putting the frosting on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
My family loves this recipe! It is really simple, fast, and can be used on many different desserts. My family's favorite is to use it on cut-out cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I just tried this after finding out that I was out of shortening to make the buttercream frosting I usually use for cupcakes/sugar cookies. I am impressed! I used powdered (reconstituted) milk and it still turned out great. It set up quickly and spread wonderfully. I will use this instead of the other since I never really liked tasting the shortening anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Bunny Chef
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was so easy!! My cousin and I made this at 2 am to frost a lemon cake. We added lemon extract and yellow food coloring to the frosting, and it was really good! Just make sure you put in enough of the powdered sugar, or it will get a bit runny and drip out the sides of the cake... Still tastes good, but looks kinda weird! Also, I'd recommend sifting the sugar before putting it in the frosting. We didn't do this because we didn't have a sieve handy, but I think it would have eliminated the somewhat gritty texture (that's why I gave it 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I used this for an orange cake, and it was wonderful! I did have to add a little more milk because it's very thick, and I also added about an extra 1/4 tsp vanilla. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
this is a great basic recipe...I added a little bit more butter than the one-third cup because it was really sweet and it was perfect. Easy to color or decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States