Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out just right. I iced my cupcakes and they looked absolutely beautiful. For me, personally it came out too sweet... Which I should have known before hand by just reading the ingredients. Next time I think I'll try a different frosting/icing recipe and save this one for homemade cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great frosting!! i added a splash of almond extract but it is not necessay. This recipe is pretty darn perfect for any cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yummy yummy yummy....not too sweet for me but then again I am a sweet tooth girl. This is my new standard frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aussiemum
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Easy to make and taste so good. I used it to frost my daughter's castle cake. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This frosting recipe was way too sweet! Maybe add one less cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
We love this frosting! It is so easy to make and frosts so nicely. Beats the canned frostings to heck. I had only a few cupcakes to frost (4-6) and I reduced the servings to 12 and it was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
not the worst frosting in the world but it was sicky sweet. It might be better for icing cookies but i used it for a cake and not so good. Luckily it was just the crumb coat so I can use a different recipie for the final layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
love it... turned out great and my kids eat it up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura_mae99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My family has been using this all my life. We never had a written recipe, just "a glob of butter, a splash of milk" etc. If it turns out too runny you can add more sugar, too thick you can add more milk. Instead of using vanilla you can use orange, banana, almond extract etc. Some people say it comes out grainy and to sift - I've never sifted; use a hand mixer. It fluffs it up a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was my first try making icing. I added extra icing sugar because it seemed a bit runny to me. I used a few drops of food colouring and then put it into plastic sandwich bags with the tip cut off to pipe it onto cupcakes and it was great! The icing hardened to keep its shape. I'm really happy to have a recipe without shortening that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States