Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I was looking for a frosting to frost "Amish Cookies" from this site and this one seemed to fit the bill. Nothing beats butter for frosting and the sugar is easily adjusted for the amount of sweetness you desire. I only used 3 1/2 cups sugar and, despite that, actually had to add a little more milk to get the right consistency to pipe onto my cookies. This is a recipe I will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have used this recipe a countless number of times. It instantly makes anything (cookies, cupcakes, cake, brownies) so much better! Definitely my favorite frosting recipe! Thanks for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was sooo yummy I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was such a good recipe. I don't think I'll bother looking for another butter frosting now that I've discovered this one. The texture was perfect and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
GREAT! This is so good: I had my family eating just frosting. Because I was making a coconut cream cake, I added...coconut. Spread on white cake. This is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My kids really enjoyed making and eating this frosting! We ended up using 1/2 cup butter, an extra cap full of milk and an extra cap full of vanillla extract to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Nice, basic and dependable butter cream frosting, but just a tad on the sweet side if you use all the powdered sugar called for. I stopped at 3-1/2 cups and found it just right, although as little as 2 cups would have worked too. I didn't measure the milk, as how much you use depends on how you plan to use the frosting, and in my case I piped it, so I'm sure I used less than the recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is extremely easy to make. I used 4 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 4 1/2 cups. I also used fat free milk. The frosting is very sweet but delicious. I recommend not making the frosting ahead of time. The frosting gets this weird textured if sitting to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywifehappylife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is hands-down the BEST frosting I've ever used! The ONLY change we made is the addition of about a tablespoon of milk, but other than that, it's perfect as-is. Just sweet enough, and not buttery or greasy, like some of the shortening-based frostings. I'll use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Dont microwave your butter to soften it! I learned my sellons when my frosting kepts seperating. I tried it again and let it soften on its own and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States