Butter Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Pretty good. I would add some more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I am always looking for new ways to prepare vegetables, and this one seemed pretty easy. However, the flour gives the zucchini a bland taste. However, I am going to try it again with thinner slices of zucchini and some sort of herbed breadcrumbs instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
This recipe is confusing. The title says "Butter Fried Zucchini" and the description says "cooked in butter not oil". But then it calls for 3/4 cup *margarine*. I don't use margarine, my choice is butter instead of hydrogenated fat, but butter scorched if you got it hot enough to make the coating crispy and at lower temperatures it just soaks up fat and stays soggy. Oil would have definitely been a much better choice. Maybe if you use margarine this will turn out, but I can't see the benefit, I'll go back to using seasoned bread crumbs and olive oil for my fried zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
a little bland, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
The batter doesn't stick very well to the zucchini. Better if they were deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Oh my gosh, are there ever good! Mom mom used to make this kinda thing when I was little, and I'd totally forgotten abuot them untill I saw this recipe. Added a little garlic powder, but other then that followed the recipe. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best. You could taste both the egg and the flour fairly well. I didn't add any seasonings. I would recommend add seasonings if you are going to try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Meh. It's tasty, but no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very easy recipe! Most of the ingredients we keep on hand, so I am sure I will make it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is one of our family's favorite "appetizers". It's definitely a southern thing, even though we live in California (family from Texas and North Carolina though). This is basically the same recipe that I grew up with, except that we just dip the zucchini in milk, not eggs, and then dip in the flour, sprinkle with salt and fry em up! These never, ever make it to the table because we eat them to fast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States