Butter Fried Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very Yummy! Double the Flour and Seasoned Salt amount + add 1/2 tsp of black pepper for more flavor! This might cook better in a mini fryer as it leaves your frying pan a gross mess with the flour/butter build up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Tasted great and I really enjoyed them. I added pepper and extra salt but next time might add some paprika to give a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not too bad. I used olive oil instead on butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzieqs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
If you like parsnips, you have got to try this one. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Wow, it felt like I just licked a stick of butter that had a slight parsnip taste. I was going to modify the recipe because it sounded like a bad idea to begin with, but cooked as the instructions say. My wife said they were alright, but I've never heard her say she didn't enjoy something. I'll find another use for parsnips in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Parsnips have never been a favorite veggie for me, BUT....This IS the way to serve them! So good, and the parsnip taste was subtle. My children liked them, who are 4 and 5. This recipe would impress your guests at Thanksgiving. What a nice change from the usual mashed veggies served during holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I've not had parsnip before, but I've decided I don't like the taste of it. I think the recipe is good and will like to try with another veg. but parsnip isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Proof you just can't go wrong frying something in butter! This was outstanding, and my husband and I aren't huge parsnip fans. We've been trying to eat local foods in season, and all winter I avoided parsnips except mixed in with lots of other veggies to the point where you can't even taste them. Finally, I saw what is probably the very last parsnips of the season, and I decided that I had to stop being a wimp and give it a go. And boy am I glad I did. Even one of my 2 year old twins ate this up, which felt like a small miracle. My only problem now is that I'm going to have to wait until next winter to eat this again. Well, I guess it's good to have things to look forward to in the winter! Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by djo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Good recipe. Root vegetables are awesome when fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States