Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I would've NEVER believed it!!! Me, who burns toast 287 days of the year made a pie with crust to die for!! The crust was absolutely simple to make, i wrapped it firmly in plastic wrap over night and in the AM it was perfect! I used the advice in other posts of a well-floured rolling pin and surface. Today apple pie, tomorrow, quiche lorraine---Thanks, Dana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
WOW! This was great! I made an apple pie with this and I could have just ate the crust. It was very easy to work with... this was my first time at a crust from scratch. Just keep the dough cold. Easy easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I was suprised at how easy this recipe was. I added only the 1/4 cup of water.. and found it was not enough.. kept adding water until it was the correct consistency. Was a breeze to roll, tasted great! Thanks for a recipe that uses butter instead of lard or shortening.. neither of which I keep in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
i am awful when it comes to making pie crusts, but i have to say, i love this one, it turned out PERFECTLY. i read through the other reviews, and do not recall it calling for 1/2 c water as one wrote....and i agree with others, the key is to roll it between wax paper dusted with flour. it turned out delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The best I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a foolproof flaky crust recipe. The portions worked out perfectly for me. Thank you for a straightforward yummy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Easy and delicious. (Soft on the inside, crisp on the top.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Turned out great. I wouldn't change a thing. Was wonderfully flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Simply Delicious! Maybe the two negative reviewers should learn how to read the recipe more carefully. I had no problem at all, this is the best pastry crust i've ever made. Thanks!!:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is a Great recipe. I had never used butter before to make a pie crust but this is delicious! It is very flaky and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States