Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
i am awful when it comes to making pie crusts, but i have to say, i love this one, it turned out PERFECTLY. i read through the other reviews, and do not recall it calling for 1/2 c water as one wrote....and i agree with others, the key is to roll it between wax paper dusted with flour. it turned out delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
WOW! This was great! I made an apple pie with this and I could have just ate the crust. It was very easy to work with... this was my first time at a crust from scratch. Just keep the dough cold. Easy easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I would've NEVER believed it!!! Me, who burns toast 287 days of the year made a pie with crust to die for!! The crust was absolutely simple to make, i wrapped it firmly in plastic wrap over night and in the AM it was perfect! I used the advice in other posts of a well-floured rolling pin and surface. Today apple pie, tomorrow, quiche lorraine---Thanks, Dana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I was suprised at how easy this recipe was. I added only the 1/4 cup of water.. and found it was not enough.. kept adding water until it was the correct consistency. Was a breeze to roll, tasted great! Thanks for a recipe that uses butter instead of lard or shortening.. neither of which I keep in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The best I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a foolproof flaky crust recipe. The portions worked out perfectly for me. Thank you for a straightforward yummy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Easy and delicious. (Soft on the inside, crisp on the top.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Turned out great. I wouldn't change a thing. Was wonderfully flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Simply Delicious! Maybe the two negative reviewers should learn how to read the recipe more carefully. I had no problem at all, this is the best pastry crust i've ever made. Thanks!!:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is a Great recipe. I had never used butter before to make a pie crust but this is delicious! It is very flaky and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States