Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
the dough was sticky and hard to manage when i tryed to roll it out. i finally got it to stop sicking to me and my rolling pin by heavily dusting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Why don't people test their recipes before posting them here??? 1/2 cup water was waaaay too much for this crust. Probably 1/4 cup would be fine -- next time I will add it 1 tbsp at a time until it reaches the right consistency. Definitely too gooey to roll out the way it's listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I found this to be a great recipe....and I was very disapointed with the other reviews...The recipe calls for the correct amount of water and try rolling out your dough in flour and maybe it won't be so sticky......I liked this recipe very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This crust came out perfect for me using 1/4 cup of ice water like the recipe says. It is easy to work with when you use a paring knife to slice the butter into thin slices. Roll it out using wax paper and a little flour and it doesn't stick. It was a crispy, flakey pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
Delicious crust! I never have much success with pie crusts & only chose this recipe because I had butter on hand, but it turned out perfectly the first time! It is probably one of the best pie crusts I have ever had. I, too, was disappointed with the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This pie dough makes a very tasty and easy to work with crust. I've been making very large amounts of it for double crust pies, and there is more than enough to go around (after three double crust pies the trimmings are enough for one more single crust pie). In my hot region of the country I find it best to cube the butter and freeze it before cutting into the dough, otherwise things get really pasty. The dough is extremely sticky, but I love working in a big puff of flour -- I spread nearly a half a cup over my rolling surface once the dough has chilled, and of course more flour over the top. Once it is rolled out, this crust is also very easily handled, even for the most intricate lattice tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I would've NEVER believed it!!! Me, who burns toast 287 days of the year made a pie with crust to die for!! The crust was absolutely simple to make, i wrapped it firmly in plastic wrap over night and in the AM it was perfect! I used the advice in other posts of a well-floured rolling pin and surface. Today apple pie, tomorrow, quiche lorraine---Thanks, Dana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I was suprised at how easy this recipe was. I added only the 1/4 cup of water.. and found it was not enough.. kept adding water until it was the correct consistency. Was a breeze to roll, tasted great! Thanks for a recipe that uses butter instead of lard or shortening.. neither of which I keep in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
i am awful when it comes to making pie crusts, but i have to say, i love this one, it turned out PERFECTLY. i read through the other reviews, and do not recall it calling for 1/2 c water as one wrote....and i agree with others, the key is to roll it between wax paper dusted with flour. it turned out delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The best I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States