Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My family loves this crust, I use it for everything from Apple Pie to Chicken Pot Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Parowan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe worked out great for me. I froze and grated the butter, as suggested in a couple of reviews (thanks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the tastiest pie crust ever!! I didn't have time to let it rest 4 hours in the fridge, it was about 45 minutes and it still turned out buttery and flaky. It's so simple to make that my 13 year old daughter made it twice and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Makes a nice crispy crust with good flavor. Just watch the water as you add it. Keep the dough on the dry side. I used it for quiche, and it wasn't soggy on the bottom after baking. I will try it next time for a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe for pumpkin pie-this may work better for a two crust pie but for a pumpkin pie it shrunk, pooled butter around edges and didn't cook properly on bottom. I keep rethinking how I made it and maybe I did something wrong before but I wouldn't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uwsupergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the best pie crust I've ever had, all other pie crust is just doughy which I can't stand, this one is tasty and flaky and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margirene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Finally! After 39 years of looking for a pie crust that rolls out easily and can transfer to a pie pan without falling apart. The dough is like elastic. I stumbled upon this recipe on Thanksgiving morning. I made it in my food processor. It is also very tasty! Thanks to the person that submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This crust was very easy to roll out, and the finished texture and flavor were perfect. As it was baking (I used it for a sweet potato pie), the whole house was filled with an enticing scent and the crust's flavor lived up to that olfactory promise. One note: keep an eye on it as it bakes, because the edges will burn in a hurry. You may want to rotate your pies or cover the crust with foil or a commercial crust protector to avoid this. Other than that, it was great even though I was only able to refrigerate it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Beautiful, easy to make, delicious. Followed recipe almost exactly but needed a pinch more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best crust recipe I've ever used. Perfect buttery flaky crust. I put the butter in the freezer for 15 minutes before the flour, salt and butter in the food processor and pulsing it until crumbly. So pleased with the result. My crust recipe search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States