Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my first successful attempt at pie crust. I followed the directions nearly exactly as written, except I mistakenly added 1 1/3 cup flour instead of 1 1/4 cup flour. It turned out perfectly. Light, flaky, buttery and delicious. I used it to make empanadas that received rave reviews. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect on my first try. This is the best pie crust recipe, and you don't even need a food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
THIS IS THE BEST PIE CRUST EVER!!!I have used other crust recipes from this site and they have not turned out as well as this one did.I am so excited to use this again and again!Thank you so much Dana for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy_meals_win

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a really good pie crust and I have used it often. For those that are having trouble with it patience is the key. You just need to make sure that you work the ingredients to the right consistency and not overwork it. Add your water a little at a time until it forms a ball. I double the recipe and only used two tablespoons of water. You want to see little bits of butter when you are finished. I tried using my kitchen aid for this and decided it was easier to do it with a pastry cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I love this crust. I have made it 6 or 7 times and live how easy it is to make. Not only is it easy to make, but it also cost less then the already made pie crust. I not only use it for my chicken pot pie, have have also made it with apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Pacific, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Double for two 9" crusts. Used frozen butter cut into large chunks, blended with flour in Ninja. Added ice water, but not full amount. Used salted butter and didn't add salt, but next time I think I will add at least a pinch. I put the dough in the freezer for a few minutes while preparing pot pie filling and then put it together. Came out beautifully flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe for years now. It makes the BEST crust ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect as it is! This is going to become a staple in my repertoire! Made chicken pot pie with it and it was a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Soooooo good!! Never using Pilsbury again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States