Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Perfect. I've used this recipe at least ten times (I love to bake) and doubled it each time, following the recipe exactly. It's perfectly flaky, buttery, and works great for apple pie, sweet potato pie, pecan pie, etc. I put my water, mixing bowl, butter, and pastry cutter in the freezer for 5 minutes before making the crust. This keeps everything good n' cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef1230

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Really good. I'll use this recipe for most of my pies. Love the butter. Definitely must put in the fridge over night and use limited handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Absolutely delicious and super easy. Made for chicken pot pie. Eggwashed the bottom crust and baked for 5 mins at 400 degrees before filling, also egg washed the top crust. Took the suggestion of another commenter and grated the frozen butter with a cheese grater, it was hard work but worth it! Used the leftover bits for a chicken pot "pocket", even after the dough was warm and handled- it rolled and baked beautifully. The key is to keep everything as cold as possible when mixing this dough. My new official crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I doubled the recipe so I could have a top, and a bottom for my blueberry pie and I had some leftover! I made an apple pie with the leftover crust! Well, back to the crust...It is yummy, flaky, and perfectly crispy. My family raved over it! I made a blueberry pie with mine and when it came out of the oven, I brushed it with melted butter and sprinkled it with cinnamon-sugar. That pie didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love the flavor, but I still have trouble with the balance between getting it to roll out and overworking it. And why is it that I always seem to need more icewater than is called for in the recipe? I do buy flour in bulk and store it a long time (in a cool dry place, sealed container). Is my flour dryer than that of other people?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The easiest and the most tastiest pie crust ever! I made 2 batches and the second batch I added a little brown sugar and everyone loved it! I literally turned around and the pie was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe is great, I used my Kitchen Aid to mix! And of course, Salted Butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
The most amazing flaky crust I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Really nice pie crust way better than store bought ones, may even go as far as to say its the best ive tried, SO easy to make it was my first time and they were perfect only down side id say is I doubled the ingredients because i wanted to make two small/medium pies but the pie crust wasent enough so i used it to cover my first pie, used a food proccessor type thing then my hands because the bottom was too liquidy i just addded more flour and it was great, i think i cooked it for around 45 mins then put it at a warming heat till ready to serve, i put it at gas mark 4 but the oven was heating something else at a higher temp so kinda preheated. AQnyway VERY VERY easy and tastes amaze , love it! way more appealing than something with vegtable shortening which i dont even think you can get in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Had a really hard time with getting it into the dish, in the end the edge fell into my pie (I think it got bumped in the oven, or was just too soggy) and it didn't really turn out that flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States