Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Really nice pie crust way better than store bought ones, may even go as far as to say its the best ive tried, SO easy to make it was my first time and they were perfect only down side id say is I doubled the ingredients because i wanted to make two small/medium pies but the pie crust wasent enough so i used it to cover my first pie, used a food proccessor type thing then my hands because the bottom was too liquidy i just addded more flour and it was great, i think i cooked it for around 45 mins then put it at a warming heat till ready to serve, i put it at gas mark 4 but the oven was heating something else at a higher temp so kinda preheated. AQnyway VERY VERY easy and tastes amaze , love it! way more appealing than something with vegtable shortening which i dont even think you can get in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Had a really hard time with getting it into the dish, in the end the edge fell into my pie (I think it got bumped in the oven, or was just too soggy) and it didn't really turn out that flakey. I may be to blame as I am a beginner pie crust maker, but I feel the recipe is part to blame also if it can't help someone who hasn't made it before make it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
If you like butter then, yes, this recipe is for you. I think it's a bit heavy and overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Have used this recipe many times and will continue to, its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The dough was a lot tougher to roll out and not near as flaky as the recipe we usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Turned out so flaky!! I plan to use his pie crust for many recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very simple and buttery. You can always add a tlb or 2 of sugar for a sweeter crust if doing desserts. When the pie is almost done, I brush a combo of egg and cream on top and sprinkle sugar. This was one of my Grandmother's tricks. It makes the crust pretty and gives a nice sugar crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alli Shircliff
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super easy and made a delicious crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have a question. Do I have to make two batches of this dough to be able to have a bottom and top crust? Or this recipe makes enough for both bottom and top?? Someone please help Asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 920) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States