Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
They were fairly easy to make, but I thought they lacked flavor. I used butter instead of an egg wash, but I don't think that made much of a difference. I think they need more salt. I tried the recipe a second time, and I made sure I used salted butter. I added another 1/4 tsp of salt to the recipe, and I also added some salt to the butter wash. The turned out great, and were a big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are super crescent rolls! I was a bit worried about sugar being in the recipe, but it adds just a hint of sweetness, and they're still great with savory flavors, like gravy. They have a rich, buttery taste and a light texture. I've used the dough as a topping for casseroles and pot pies, and it works great. It puffs up in the oven more than you'd expect. You can also roll them up with bacon and cheese or tiny sausages before baking them and have a great snack. The time spent on these is worth it! (And it always seems to take my dough a little longer to rise than the recipe states.) Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Very yummy! I made them in my bread machine on the dough cycle and they turned out wonderful! I am now using this recipe in place of pre-made crescent dough in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Outstanding! I used bread flour rather than all-purpose and probably added an additional 1 c. of flour in the kneading process. The first rising time was about 2 hrs. Definately will make about 24 crescents rather than the 12 the recipe yields. Making 12 makes HUGE rolls! Did not brush the rolls with anything before baking and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Excellent! I made the dough in my bread machine on dough cycle. The recipes does make more rolls than stated, unless you like ENORMOUS rolls. I did have trouble with the rolls getting too dark on the bottom before the tops browned, baking them at 350 helped. These are delicious,everyone in my picky family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Yum Yum!! Made minor changes like melting the butter with the milk and instead of using an egg to brush the tops, I used butter. Based on other reviews I slit my dough 3 ways to make alot of little rolls, but to no avail. They seemed to just keep on growing. :-) But a great recipe and one where I had no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I didn't like these at all, I thought they were heavy. Not really what I expected and I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Great recipe. Good looking rolls, easy directions. You can make a softer finish by coating with melted butter, instead of egg, prior to baking. This dough is ample enough to produce even more rolls. By rolling out in larger circles, you can get 12 good-sized rolls or 14 slightly smaller rolls per circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I made these for thanksgiving last year. They turned out perfectly. My Dad said they reminded him of his childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Excellent! These rolls were easy to make, and tasted great! Keep an eye on them...My rolls were ready in ten minutes. Everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States