Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Delicious! So worth the time. I though that they were never going to rise, but it seemed like they did all at once. YUM! Can't wait ti make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Delicious! I wanted to make "pigs-in-a-blanket" using crescent rolls and didn't want to use the store-bought crescents. TIP#1: If you want flaky rolls, 1)roll the dough out, 2)spread w/melted butter, 3)fold it, 4)spread w/butter, 5)fold, roll out and repeat. TIP#2: If you don't want burnt bottoms, use an aluminum baking sheet W/O DARK BOTTOM, NO AIR-BAKE, AND NOT DARK NON-STICK. Also, my oven has 4 rack positions: I put mine on the 2nd from the top which browns the tops better and gives the bottoms a little more space from the heat. TIP#3: Proof your yeast first and it will rise in the time suggested. Dissolve yeast in water as stated and add 1/2t. sugar; let sit in an oven that was preheated to WARM FOR 15 SECONDS (Don't forget to turn oven off after 15 sec.). In about 10-15 min. the mixture should have doubled. If it's done nothing, try again with different yeast. It's okay if the recipe takes longer to rise than suggested--they taste better that way! I let mine rise in the refrigerator all day. I also add only 3T. sugar in total and 1t. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I havent even finished cooking these yet, and I've just been watching the dough rise. Can anyone read of what? I do not care for this recipe! Ive had a hell of a time reading this recipe. Is it ONE egg? or two? It isnt straight forward. Plus, the dough doesnt seem to be rising, and it has already been one hour. Ive made cinnamon rolls, etc, recipes using yeast before and have never had any problems with yeast rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very nice dough... Was wonderful fresh out of the oven. After dinner, they were hard...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
very good.... Glad I doubled the recipe. I made garlic and parm crescents, plain butter, pillow type dinner rolls, and cin buns with this recipe. Very good and versital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe for a couple of years now and it always works great! Cinnamon buns, pizza dough (omit sugar and add herbs), all different shapes of rolls are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used this recipe for the crust of the Taco Pie recipe from this site and it turned out great! I made up the rest of the crescents according to these directions and they made the fluffiest crescents ever! Now I have plenty for the freezer saved for later, can't wait to dig into them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makimbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Best rolls ever! I am the worst at making bread. I always knead the dough by hand and end up using way more flour than the recipe calls for to prevent the dough from sticking to my hands and the board. I just started using my stand mixer for kneading dough and discovered that it does an excellent job because it doesn't require any extra flour like it does when you knead by hand. I used the exact measurements for this recipe and let the stand mixer do the work, then followed the directions and the rolls were extremely light and airy, excellent in flavor and were SUPER EASY to make. I'll be passing this one on for sure. There's no need to look any further for a roll recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
THESE ARE SO YUMMY! I DID A BUTTER BASTING BEFORE GOING IN THE OVEN AND THEY(IMO) WERE WAY TASTIER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thaocollazo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States