Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
These rolls were pretty easy to make. I used my bread machine for this recipe. The dough was very smooth and very easy to handle. I followed other reviewers suggestions and reduced the flour by half a cup. I also replaced the butter with the butter that you can't believe it's not. I separated the dough into 3 portions and rolling each portion into a 12 inch circle. Use a pizza cutter(so easy!) to cut 12 triangles. This way the recipe yielded 36 rolls and they were the same size as the ready made versions. I froze 24 rolls on a tray and saved them for another time. So for next time, just place the rolls on a cookie tray and place in a warm oven till doubled in size. This is a definite keeper! I left some leftover(I know, right? Not possible!) rolls out overnight and they were still soft the next day. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
OMG! so easy and so addictive! At first I thought the batter was a little sweet, but once baked, they are awesomely good!SAMME is right, worth the wait! I test receipes all the time as I bake for a FARMERS Market. I will be adding these to my weekly baking for the market. Only tweak, I didn't do the egg wash, they browned beautifully without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Instead of sugar you caN SUBSTITUTE honey. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Awesome recipe :) But, I did choose to go the savory route. I: let the dough rise twice, rolled the dough into rounds then sprinkled with oregano and fresh grated parmesan cheese before cutting and forming, brushed the tops with butter, then sprinkled with basil and seasoning salt. I then sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top of that and baked at 350F until golden brown. I think next time I'll use cream cheese (be creative people!). All together these croissants were fluffy and delicious, I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fruit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made these in my bread machine using the pizza dough cycle and they turned out wonderful. I put turkey sausages (or cheese (babybel) instead of the sausages sometimes) in them. I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I only warmed the milk in the microwave and let the butter melt in it afterwards. I may even use this dough to make hot dog buns. make sure you leave enough space between the crescents while baking them because they get bigger. next time I'll cook them at 190 degrees though, mine browned a bit too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Ok as a sweet bread. Not a crescent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
delectable. I made in the bread machine on dough cycle and then used to make ham and cheese roll ups + dinner rolls. Fabulous. Slight pretzel character. I allowed to rise about 45 minutes prior to baking and they still puffed up quite a bit. I will use t his recipe a ton now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were very "yeasty"...but otherwise unflavorfull and they make WAY more rolls than stated if you want typical-size crescent rolls. They weren't as light as you'd expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoughtsofTHATmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This recipe is wonderful...I used it as finger food for my sister party and I put a spicy chicken filling they were a hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am 13 years old and I made these. They were great!!! The only difference is I used 3/4 teaspoon of salt, and instead of an egg wash I used melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States