Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Smooth and velvety frosting, made extra rich and creamy from the egg yolk and lengthy mixing time. My only caution is that if you need a pure white frosting this may not be to your liking--in that case egg whites could easily be substituted with an equally good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Yumm. I could not stop eating the cupcakes with this frosting. I did add just a tiny splash of orange extract to the mix. It adds just a bit of brightness and depth without an "orangey" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toothpkr97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! It was easy to make and tasted great. I also let it mix for 3 or so minutes. I loved it and so did my family! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is a good frosting, although it doesn't taste like buttercream frosting from a bakery. The eggs made it a bit more rich than the standard powdered sugar/vanilla/butter/milk frosting that my mom has always made and it was certainly very sweet. Spread nicely and set well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is an easy recipe for a delicious quick frosting, using items most people have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
You can use pasturized eggs, found in most grocery stores, which are completely safe to consume raw. Just thought I would mention that alternative. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is so good! I will make this again and again! Huge hit with the cheerleaders on my daughter's high school squad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This could be my current fav buttercream frosting...I'm not positive because they all kind of taste the same, but I do really like this one. I followed the recipe to a "T" w/half and the other half I subbed almond extract for vanilla extract. Great consistency & flavor (though, the egg thing did/does kind of throw me for a loop)...TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Simple recipe that yields a WONDERFUL frosting. I received multiple compliments with this on a standard yellow cake. Highly recommended. I did add a bit more vanilla than called for in the ingredients - provided a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Well All I Can Say Is It Taste Good At First It Didint Look like It Was Going To Work But After I Kept Mixing It Its Started To Work Out Well I Loved The Taste But I Did Have To Put A Whole Lot More Powdered Sugar Like The Whole Bag But All In All It Was Good I Wnat To Make It Thick Enough To Make Roses But It Didint Work If AnyOne Has Ideas Please Share Aloha, Sweet's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States