Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a hit. The only suggestion I have would be to taste it before you add the 4th cup of sugar, it gets pretty sweet. It's weird some people say it was runny. I mixed mine by hand with a freakin fork and it was still creamy and deliscious...I hope they only used the egg yolk and not the whole egg. Also, make the butter room tempreature when you measure and use it- do not melt it completely in a microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I Love this frosting! I've tried 3 different recipes this holiday season and this is the one i will stick with. I've already but it into my cook book! I did substitue with mile with buttermilk, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Best frosting we have ever used, very adaptable too. substitute 1 cup of cocoa to make a great fudgy frosting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is AMAZING. I actually halved the recipe. I used buttermilk instead of regular and added slightly more powdered sugar and twice as much vanilla. WOW is all I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowthersamyk
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very good, I used it for my parents 32nd wedding annivarsary cake. But I wished I would have refrigerated the cake leftovers-it went bad in about 2 day. (I imagine from the eggs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I died and went to heaven, what more can I say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ladyva73
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I varied the amount by added a 1/4 tsp of whipping cream more than the recipe called for milk. Really spread nicely on a frozen layer of ganache poured over my yellow cake. I'm sure there won't be any left after my co-workers get there hands on it. Happy Birthday Mr. Greene!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyva73

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lovettsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was a very tasty recipe. But mine was incredibly runny, and I couldnt pipe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babybutterfly00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! I substituted 1 cup of dark cocoa for one cup of the confectioner's sugar and made the best chocolate frosting. My family is already bugging me for another cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States