Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe; however, I made a few amendments. I used plain yogurt instead of milk/cream as a low-fat alternative, which provided a nice, thicker consistency. Since I prefer extra spicy foods, I also added in an additional teaspoon (or two) of the cumin. Using cauliflower instead of potatoes in the recipe provides a light texture, which complements starchy side dishes such as rice. Overall, I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I substituted crushed tomatoes for the tomato soup, and used coconut milk as the milk in this recipe. It yields a nice, mild curry, which was a good introduction to Indian food for my boyfriend, but I found it somewhat too mild for my taste, and added some sriracha chile sauce. I'll definitely make this recipe again, but will continue to experiment with different additions, like cayenne pepper and/or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
We absolutely loved this. This was my first time to make a curry dish, but I had some garbanzo beans I needed to use and thought I'd give this a try. Boy am I glad I did! I made it just as it said (except I used a packet of soup and half the water it called for) and it was so extremely flavorful. I served it with naan and guferati (Indian green beans) from this site and my hubby just raved and raved! Thanks for a great recipe! Added note: Be sure to not skimp on the time of cooking the spices. This seems to be a vital step in releasing the full flavor of the spices. The second time I made it, it wasn't nearly as flavorful and the only difference was that I was in a hurry and just stirred them around a bit this time. It was still good, but not wow good like the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Using canned tomatoes, and tomate paste give this a bolder, more thangy flavour that I think chickpeas need, as they can tend to be more creamy/nuttier and lend themselves well to the tangy thick richness of a tomatoe paste vs. soup. Also, make sure you watch your ingredients that have too many additives (like the soup) as these additives really take away from the clean, refreshing simplicity this dish embodies. It's also full of digestible protein and most little kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KROLLINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapiti, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I love this recipe!!! I used cauliflower instead of potatos. I use sour cream instead of cream. I also use half tomato soup and half crushed tomatos to add more flavor. If you don't saute the herbs first this recipe will be bland. Cooking them by themselves brings out their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe is awesome! Also, as a vegan, I appreciated that this recipe is was really easy for me to convert into a vegan recipe. Instead of using regular milk, I used rice milk. Rice milk works very well if you are trying to modify this recipe to be vegan-friendly. Unlike soymilk, rice milk doesn't leave a distinct flavor that might clash with some of the other flavors in the curry. I will definitely make this curry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is a really tasty recipe. Cauliflower is a good substitute for the potatoes, and really cuts the cooking time. Added zucchini for some green. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is nice. I doubled the cumin, added 2 teaspoons of green thai curry paste, used a can of chopped tomato instead of soup, used half sweet potato and half carrot... and substituted the milk for 1/2 can low fat coconut milk. I'll definitely be using this one again - really tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
WOW!! This is so yummy! I followed the recipe pretty much to a tee... only difference is I added more garlic plus one red pepper, plus some ground red pepper to kick up the spice. I bet it will be even better tomorrow. I can see this being very adaptable... switching out potatoes for veggies, etc. Also, I used lite coconut milk and it was still creamy and delish. Definitely a keeper, thnx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
WOW!! My first attempt at Indian food. DELICIOUS! My changes, after reading the reviews: I only used 2 potatoes and added the equivalent in cauliflower to make up for the missing 2 potatoes (I steamed the cauliflower first). I did use the tomato soup base (couldn't recognize the taste at all). This had a phenomenal taste--flavourful but not very spicy. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States