Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly, and i didn't think that it made a very flavourful dish. i really had to add to it. I added some crushed tomatoes, extra curry powder, extra salt and pepper, and some extra water. After all that it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fordham, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Ok, so I can't give this recipe a fair shake. I changed a lot of aspects trying to "lighten" it up a little. I doubled the recipe in hopes of having left overs for the next few days. I used 4 red potatoes and a small head of cauliflower. I doubled the seasonings and this is where I think it went wrong. I am unfamiliar with Garam Masala and while it has a wonderful flavor, doubling in made it too pungent! Also, instead of using tomato soup I used one 15 oz. can tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can no-salt-added diced tomatoes. Yet another mistake!... I didn't take into account that pure tomato sauce and tomatoes don't have all the flavorings the soup would have had to counter the seasonings. Instead of milk/cream, I used fat-free plain yogurt and just a splash of 1% milk. Followed all preparations according to directions. The way mine turned out was overpowering. This was MY mistake and not the recipes. I would love to try this again but I know next time to watch what I do with those seasonings!!! The cauliflower was a fantastic addition, next time I will probably completely omit the potatoes and use all cauliflower! This recipe has wonderful potential and I will probably do it all the same except for doubling those spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Amazing as is. A good base for Indian food in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
one word, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have just started experimenting with different curry recipes, this was nice and easy, not overpowering, my 11 year old loved it. I used my Costco can of tomato soup which is a 15 oz can and added a large chicken breast that was already diced and cooked, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
the tomato soup added a poor taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great easy recipe. I didn't add salt, and cut the garam masala down (i find it too cinnamony.) Defiitely needs something stronger than skim milk, but that's my fault. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
When I tasted the dish after cooking it, it tasted too much like tomato soup...however, after letting it sit for a few hours, it tasted MUCH BETTER! I recommend this recipe, I didn't have enough milk, so along with the tomato soup i added 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup coconut milk. This is also very mild, so if you like spicey, then you may want to add a spoon of chilli too. I am going to use this to make butter chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
It was fairly simple to make but I was really disappointed with the dish. I've had chickpea curries in Indian restaurants that I've loved, but this didn't taste anything like them. It wasn't a great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very good recipe. I wanted to educate my father's tastebuds to appreciate curry so I tried this recipe. He REALLY liked it so it is now a family favourite! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E-gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States