Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made as directed. It was very fragrant (my apartment smelled like cumin for days!). One of the guys didn't like it at all; the husband and I thought it was okay. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used 1/2 cup light sour cream instead of cream as the recipe called for. Also, I did not use condensed tomato soup because I didn't have any. Instead I had 3/4 can tomato sauce. Cooked for a little longer to bring out the flavours. Will definitely make again, but will add something to give it a little more heat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is so good. Made it for dinner because I love curry. It tasted wonderful and was so easy to make. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was really good!!! I followed it exactly and it turned out great. I'm not a big fan of cooking with canned soup, but this one worked. And it was totally simple to make. Tasted even better next day for lunch. It was actually less spicy the next day for some reason. I'm keeping this in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly, and i didn't think that it made a very flavourful dish. i really had to add to it. I added some crushed tomatoes, extra curry powder, extra salt and pepper, and some extra water. After all that it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fordham, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Ok, so I can't give this recipe a fair shake. I changed a lot of aspects trying to "lighten" it up a little. I doubled the recipe in hopes of having left overs for the next few days. I used 4 red potatoes and a small head of cauliflower. I doubled the seasonings and this is where I think it went wrong. I am unfamiliar with Garam Masala and while it has a wonderful flavor, doubling in made it too pungent! Also, instead of using tomato soup I used one 15 oz. can tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can no-salt-added diced tomatoes. Yet another mistake!... I didn't take into account that pure tomato sauce and tomatoes don't have all the flavorings the soup would have had to counter the seasonings. Instead of milk/cream, I used fat-free plain yogurt and just a splash of 1% milk. Followed all preparations according to directions. The way mine turned out was overpowering. This was MY mistake and not the recipes. I would love to try this again but I know next time to watch what I do with those seasonings!!! The cauliflower was a fantastic addition, next time I will probably completely omit the potatoes and use all cauliflower! This recipe has wonderful potential and I will probably do it all the same except for doubling those spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Amazing as is. A good base for Indian food in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
one word, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have just started experimenting with different curry recipes, this was nice and easy, not overpowering, my 11 year old loved it. I used my Costco can of tomato soup which is a 15 oz can and added a large chicken breast that was already diced and cooked, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States