Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is what I've been looking for! Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I never buy), I used a cup of mild home-made salsa. I also used plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk. The result is perfectly spicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! It's one they request when coming home from college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic dish! I make it as it but I do add chicken so it's a full meal for my family. hubby asks for it all the time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
SUPER easy! Great curry base that I'm looking to try with other veggies. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes. So flavorful and different from what I usually eat. I'm so glad I was introduced to Garam Masala! It's my new favorite spice. I'm going to be making this for a potluck at work. Hope it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Amazing! This is by far my favorite curry recipe now. The first time I made it I made a few modifications based on what I had on hand and it worked out so well that now that's my standard. I substituted about 3 tbsp of tomato paste mixed into a cup of water in place of the tomato soup. I also used coconut milk instead of the cream. I think that gave the dish a little added sweetness and kept it non-dairy for my lactose intolerant husband. I've also used sweet potatoes with stellar results. Last time I made it I turned it into an entree for company by adding chicken. Delicious in every variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and added two chicken breasts (diced and sauteed); easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great one! Now a regular in my house. I substitute 1 shredded sweet potato, added in after the spices with a lid, to partly steam it for tenderness. Even my kids love this one and I've exposed many friends and family to Indian food because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I must admit, I mostly used this recipe for inspiration. I used butter chicken paste from Kitchens of India (which is GREAT) and omitted any extra spices, oil, the soup and the milk. I used half of a yellow onion, a whole can of chickpeas, and about 6 red potatoes cut up. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States