Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was cleaning out my cupboard and found a lot of chickpeas. I tried this recipe only because I had all the ingredients already (I made a substitute for the garam masala with ingredients I had). I had no idea such an easy recipe could be SO DELICIOUS!!! I love Indian cuisine, but never really tried to make it myself. If I had known this fantastic curry recipe was so good, I would have been making it for years!! In a word - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was pretty good. I didn't have chickpeas, so I steamed some cauliflower and carrots and threw those in. I substituted sweet potatoes for regular. I also used 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of the cream, as recommended by another user. I will say, for my kiddos, the 2 teaspoons of Curry was a bit much. I liked it myself, but will probably cut it back to 1 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Only gave this four stars because I made quite a few changes to the original recipe. Substituted coconut milk for the milk and used probably about a cup's worth. Only used half a can of the tomato soup and added a can of diced tomatoes. Also used 2 large potatoes instead of 4 and included some leftover cauliflower. Very versatile recipe and could use many different types of vegetables if wanted. Would like to try adding some pineapple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I thought this was very tasty. I only made minor changes (i.e. red potatoes, white onion, 1/2 can coconut milk, and fresh ginger) and it came out very well. My only suggestion would be to boil your own chickpeas instead of buying a can. Boiling them yourself tastes better anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leymah
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was too thick, too creamy, and too bland. It was definitely lacking in spices. I doubled the garam masala, curry, and cumin to make it edible. Did not double the ginger. I will not make this recipe again and will create my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! I was looking for something quick, easy and tasty for my vegetarian son and this was perfect! He loved it so much we all had to try it. I was instantly sorry I hadn't made more. I'll be making it again for sure. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I thought this was great! The only thing I did different was add a touch more half & half for a creamier finish and tossed in some fresh spinach that needed to be used up. Looking at the other ideas it's an incredibly adaptable recipe, thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpthomson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I was looking for a a good, simple vegetable curry/korma recipe after having it for the first time on a cruise ship and falling in love with it. I decided to try this recipe as I had most of the ingredients on hand, and I just adjusted it to what I had. I omitted the garam masala and ground ginger as I did not have any and instead added extra curry powder, I only used 2 potatoes, and added half a can of canned carrots and a small can of peas. It was SO DELICIOUS over rice, I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was delicious! Next time I'll add additional veggies, maybe peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Yummy! Didn't have garam masala on hand so made it from scratch. Think it made the cumin too over powering. Will buy some real spice and try again. Here's what I used for the garam masala: 1/2 tsp cumin 1/2 tsp paprika 1/4 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper 1/4 tsp crumbled bay leaves 1/8 tsp ground cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States