Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this several times using cauliflower instead of sweet potatoes. I also use fire roasted tomatoes instead of the soup and light coconut milk. The whole batch costs less than $10 to make, and with a side of rice, I fed myself and 5 friends! The level of spice is just right. I'm sure it'd be great with white or sweet potatoes, but I'm trying to limit my starches. This is a cheap, quick, and healthy meal. And guess what? My husband eats it without asking where the meat is! This has become a staple for me! Thanks for sharing, and thanks to the other reviewers for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love chana masala and the addition of potatoes is superb. It adds more substance to the dish. Because I didn't have (and do not like) condensed tomato soup, I added about 2/3 of a 15oz can of crushed tomatoes instead. I had left over coconut milk from another dish I had made so I used that instead of the milk. Loved it. Served with white rice, naan and butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very yummy =) A really good option for when I don't have a lot in the fridge, since pretty much all the ingredients are things I have in my pantry. Not too much work either - not a lot of chopping compared to most vegetarian recipes I've made! I did adjust it a bit but nothing major, would be a great recipe as written! Changes: I started by simmering the spices in oil, so they got nice and fragrant. I also added the boiled potatoes early on (before the liquid ingredients) so they disintegrated a bit and made the sauce nice and thick! In fact I had to add a bit of water afterwards to make it saucy again, oops! But I liked the texture that way. I used a bit of minced ginger instead of powdered; I subbed crushed tomatoes for the soup; and I added a touch of lemon juice, sugar, and cayenne for kick. I agree that tomato soup wouldn't be as nice as actual tomatoes. I did find I had to add extra spices, but I think that was my fault 'cause the potatoes soaked a lot up at the beginning. Tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a great, easy recipe that both my husband and I really enjoyed tonight! I didn't have the condensed soup so instead a used a can of diced tomatoes and about half a small can of tomato paste, which added a nice tangy flavor, as one reviewer already suggested. I also used coconut milk and only had one large potato but we felt like that was enough. It's not really spicy so I added a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper for a kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is what I've been looking for! Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I never buy), I used a cup of mild home-made salsa. I also used plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk. The result is perfectly spicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! It's one they request when coming home from college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic dish! I make it as it but I do add chicken so it's a full meal for my family. hubby asks for it all the time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
SUPER easy! Great curry base that I'm looking to try with other veggies. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes. So flavorful and different from what I usually eat. I'm so glad I was introduced to Garam Masala! It's my new favorite spice. I'm going to be making this for a potluck at work. Hope it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States