Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this last night and I don't know what I could have done wrong as this was a super simple recipe, but I didn't think much of this. It was missing something. Maybe I should have used coconut milk in stead of regular milk. And I had to use a lot of extra milk. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this several times using cauliflower instead of sweet potatoes. I also use fire roasted tomatoes instead of the soup and light coconut milk. The whole batch costs less than $10 to make, and with a side of rice, I fed myself and 5 friends! The level of spice is just right. I'm sure it'd be great with white or sweet potatoes, but I'm trying to limit my starches. This is a cheap, quick, and healthy meal. And guess what? My husband eats it without asking where the meat is! This has become a staple for me! Thanks for sharing, and thanks to the other reviewers for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love chana masala and the addition of potatoes is superb. It adds more substance to the dish. Because I didn't have (and do not like) condensed tomato soup, I added about 2/3 of a 15oz can of crushed tomatoes instead. I had left over coconut milk from another dish I had made so I used that instead of the milk. Loved it. Served with white rice, naan and butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very yummy =) A really good option for when I don't have a lot in the fridge, since pretty much all the ingredients are things I have in my pantry. Not too much work either - not a lot of chopping compared to most vegetarian recipes I've made! I did adjust it a bit but nothing major, would be a great recipe as written! Changes: I started by simmering the spices in oil, so they got nice and fragrant. I also added the boiled potatoes early on (before the liquid ingredients) so they disintegrated a bit and made the sauce nice and thick! In fact I had to add a bit of water afterwards to make it saucy again, oops! But I liked the texture that way. I used a bit of minced ginger instead of powdered; I subbed crushed tomatoes for the soup; and I added a touch of lemon juice, sugar, and cayenne for kick. I agree that tomato soup wouldn't be as nice as actual tomatoes. I did find I had to add extra spices, but I think that was my fault 'cause the potatoes soaked a lot up at the beginning. Tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a great, easy recipe that both my husband and I really enjoyed tonight! I didn't have the condensed soup so instead a used a can of diced tomatoes and about half a small can of tomato paste, which added a nice tangy flavor, as one reviewer already suggested. I also used coconut milk and only had one large potato but we felt like that was enough. It's not really spicy so I added a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper for a kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is what I've been looking for! Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I never buy), I used a cup of mild home-made salsa. I also used plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk. The result is perfectly spicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! It's one they request when coming home from college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic dish! I make it as it but I do add chicken so it's a full meal for my family. hubby asks for it all the time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
SUPER easy! Great curry base that I'm looking to try with other veggies. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States