Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the soup and used some plain yogurt instead of milk/cream per other reviews. It was quick and made a nice dish. Next time I would try cauliflower per suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I used one good sized potato and would not want more of it here. I threw in a handful of multi-colored peppers during the onion saute, adding the garlic at the very end for a short while. For the tomatoes, I added a can (not drained) of fire-roasted tomatoes. Also added 2+ tsp of curry powder, as others did. I like spicy so added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and it was PLENTY spicy for me. Had no garam masala, and just realized I forgot to add the cumin. A nice, tasty dish, one I'm sure to make again. Thanks for the recipe, Sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
i LOVE THIS. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter. Would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Very good made as stated ...would peel the potatoes next time though or use a Yukon golden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried this last night. Wow is all I can say. The simplicity and explosion of taste without meat was worth the venture into unknown territory. I made two substitutions: I used tomato juice instead of soup concentrate, and 1 good tablespoon of cream cheese. Great recipe!- Louis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used the same amount of spices called for in the original recipe, substituting fresh ginger for the powdered ginger. (I added the ginger and the garlic to the sautéing onion during the last two minutes of sauté). I reduced the potatoes to two instead of four. I steamed 10 oz of cauliflower and two carrots and added them to the mix at the same time as the potatoes. I substituted one can of no salt added diced tomatoes and 2 T tomato paste for the tomato soup. I also used 1/2 of a can of lite coconut milk instead of regular milk and added 1/2 cup of frozen peas towards the end of the final
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wonderful. As Is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
For a healthier take, I omitted the potatoes, used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, and used canned crushed tomatoes because that's what I had in the pantry, and it was delicious! Great with the bite-sized salmon tikka and basmati rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States