Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
reading all the good reviews, I thaught this cake would be excellent. when I tried it the sides were hard and cruchy, and had no real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great taste, super easy to bake, love the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The cake came out perfect, even made cupcakes but did cook on 375 degrees. Just like moms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamika
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a very delicious cake! I made my cake in a bundt pan and it turned out GREAT..also added Caramel frosting and my son loved it. Definately a keeper in my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This cake is entirely too dense. Just like others have said, it turns out like cornbread. It is much too heavy for my liking, and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Well, I read the reviews that said not using pastry flour and/or not beating until creamy caused a cornbread-like consistency. I use an electric grain grinder, so I put it on the finest setting and creamed the ingredients using a Kitchen-Aid for forever. And the first comment??? "Is there cornmeal in these?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I didn't find this to be coarse at all. It was super fluffy and delicious. Very easy recipe to follow. I had whole vanilla beans so I put the seeds in and it made a beautiful vanilla bean cupcake. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
reaaally delicious and tasty. simple and plain, good to eat even without frosting. but DO NOT OVERBAKE take out immedieatly when the top turns golden and crispty. oh and cute the sugar down to 1/3 if you dont want it to be soon sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We LOVED this cake!! I topped it with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from here. I didn't find it at all dry. I think it tasted wonderful and it is on it's third day and still as moist as day one. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My go-to cake recipe for all of my vanilla cupcakes and fondant-covered cakes. This is a dense but moist and easy to make cake...if it's dry like cornbread, you're overbaking the cake and/or mixing it too much. Mix in the flour JUST until it's blended and the cake will stay moist. If you over mix it, the gluten in the flour will make the cake "tough" plus you'll add excess air into the batter. That said, I've brought tons of cupcakes to work made with this particular recipe and people always love them. It hold its shape very well. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States