Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a fatastic cake! It tastes wonderful and is great to work with. I happened to use this for a cake decoration contest and it works really well. One thing I have to worn you on is to be sure to grease the pan WELL before you bake the cake. Also be sure to watch the cake as it's baking else you may just fine a black brick of a cake in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was not to my liking! The only change I made to the ingredients was doubling the vanilla extract - and the cake STILL tasted like flour. It is a bit on the dense side but I didn't mind that at all... Flavor was the biggest disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Got sooo many compliments, and it was easy to decorate (did not crumb more than any other cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I don't know what the heck I did wrong but this came out tasting like a sweet corn bread. I did substitute sugar with Spenda and did so as directed on the Spenda bag. We will eat it with dinner as it just so happens I made soup this evening, but I will need to go get a birthday cake from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I LOVE this recipe, this is my go to recipe for all vanilla and butter requests I get. It's always moist and super yummy, I always get nothing but raves when I make a cake with this recipe. I do add just a bit more of vanilla extract and I also wrap the layers in plastic wrap over night to help lock in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maitej17
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I had good results with this recipe. It is not the lightest cake but it is not heavy either. It is nice and moist if prepared correctly. I added more flavoring (1 ½ tsp. vanilla/ 1 tsp. orange oil) than the recipe called for. I made cupcakes; therefore the baking time was much shorter, about 25 min. for me. Regarding the dryness issue that some bakers ran into; the length of time in the oven may be the culprit. Also, keep in mind the type of pan used does matter when determining the bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This cake is awesome! So moist and so flavorful! Completely enjoyable without frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was such an aweful cake. I have to think I did something wrong. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
awesome cake. there is nothing like a good homemade butter cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States