Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I will to reduce the sugar by 1/8 next time since it's a bit sweeter to my palate. Other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe[: i made this really easily :D i wouldnt suggest so much vanilla extract though, personally, half a teaspoon is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Delicious! Like MACGREGORS said, this cake holds together and shapes very well. If you're using fondant, make sure you chill your shaped cake before applying your thin layer of icing so all that effort you put into shaping your cake doesn't crumble away... Learned that lesson thae hard way :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly, making sure that my butter/sugar was very well creamed. This cake has a spongy texture, but feels more dense than an angel food cake. I think it most resembles a coffee cake in terms of texture. I also threw in some chopped fresh strawberries and it was so yummy. I love that this recipe is so versatile and you can add fresh seasonal fruit, jams, frostings, whatever to make a cake for whatever mood you're in. I bet this cake would be great in pineapple upside down cakes too! This will be a definite go-to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
kind of dry, fit well in a 9 in. round for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very light. Tasted like an angel food cake with only 4 eggs. Very good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANCHECA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
REALLY moist and delicious cake. I substituted the milk with vanilla soy milk, and poured the mixture into a 9 in. square pan. The cake was browned on top after 30 minutes and had a really spongy, moist texture. Also, I made butterscotch topping with random stuff from my cabinet. 1 stick butter 2 cups butterscotch chips 1 cup dark brown sugar 1 tsp. vanilla extract I cooked down the sauce on my stovetop, then poured the sauce over the cake immediately after it came out of the oven. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren115

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Wonderful cake! I followed the directions except I added a packed of french vanilla instant pudding mix. The cake came out very dense (not like corn bread) with a really good flavor. I iced it with my peanut butter cream cheese icing. So far I've gotten rave reviews for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not great, not awful. One guest said they tasted like cornmeal. I didn't think they were that bad. Edited for second time baking: MUCH better this time. I wonder if I had overbeaten it the first? Upgraded from 3-4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very good. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States