Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, except instead of using 3/4 cup of regular milk I added 3/4 cup of evaporated milk. This cake turned out amazing! Definitely a great recipe that I will use often. I paired it with a chocolate frosting from this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cancemi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aramos
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I over cooked mine and didn't grease the pan well enough so it broke while I took it out of the pan. Tastes good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I just took it out of the oven. Looks good, followed the directions exactly, but it didn't raise much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Followed this recipe but used the suggestion of others to cream the butter and sugar a bit longer. I added apple slices on top and drizzled a salted rum butter sauce on top. The cake was so moist and appropriately sweet. This is my new favourite recipe!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Very good recipe. I added cream cheese and wow, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The cake was NOT LIGHT! Also when it cooled, the four sides shrunk away from inside the baking dish! I WILL NOT use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Too crumbly of a crumb. Taste was just OK; the baking time way waaaaay off...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a good recipe! I am not a good baker but this turned out to be a really lovely butter cake. Light and yellow and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kikakilljoy
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made Boston Cream Pie with this cake and the result was pretty good. The only thing I'll change next time would be the amount of flour. Not sure if anyone else had this problem but my cake tasted a bit too much like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I love the cake! I have to say, it even made the "discerning tasters" test. The timing needed longer. (electric oven) Make sure you beat well in-between for a well-balanced cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States