Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The cake was NOT LIGHT! Also when it cooled, the four sides shrunk away from inside the baking dish! I WILL NOT use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Too crumbly of a crumb. Taste was just OK; the baking time way waaaaay off...luckily I knew better than to bake a layer cake for 55 minutes! And if you're using salted butter, omit the salt, otherwise you'll taste salt in your cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a good recipe! I am not a good baker but this turned out to be a really lovely butter cake. Light and yellow and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kikakilljoy
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made Boston Cream Pie with this cake and the result was pretty good. The only thing I'll change next time would be the amount of flour. Not sure if anyone else had this problem but my cake tasted a bit too much like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I love the cake! I have to say, it even made the "discerning tasters" test. The timing needed longer. (electric oven) Make sure you beat well in-between for a well-balanced cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I used this recipe to make character cupcakes and they turned out beautiful. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes and they got a bit dark. Next time I will bake at a lower temperature. Sprayed the pan with Bakers Joy no stick baking spray and even the tiniest details came out of the pan perfectly. It made a heavy cupcake with a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Perfect little butter cake for a small dessert. I followed the recipe instructions except I separated the eggs and whipped the whites then folded them in at the end. Light and fluffy and moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The inside was very dry and course and the outside was hard and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was looking to make a butter cake from scratch for my strawberry shortcake cups. The cake came out light, had a lovely fine texture and tasted great! I had been doing research and saw that to get a fine crumb you have to beat the butter and sugar for 5-10 minutes. I made sure to do this as recommended by the Joy Baking site and other Allrecipes reviewers. Also, since I really like vanilla, I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. Lastly, I was testing out making the cake in a jelly roll pan. I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. Baking time 25 minutes if anyone was interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States