Butter Brickle Frozen Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this for my mom's birthday and it turned out excellent! Everyone loved it and I've already been asked to make it for other family members' birthdays. This recipe is extremely easy to make, even for a very inexperienced baker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie1140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ESHIPLER
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was on my list of "must try" recipes for my summer trip home to the U.S. My first impression was that it was REALLY rich and REALLY sweet. I love desserts, but this isn't one that anyone took seconds of. I'm not quite sure how to describe it. The cream part is so heavy, it sat in my mouth, kind of like a too-big bite of fudge (and this was a small bite). It's a dessert that needs a huge glass of water to help it go down. I know a lot of people rated this recipe very high, so I was surprised that I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My family calls this "deliciousness pie". First time made as directed was good. Second time I cut back a little on Caramel Topping which was just too sweet for us the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was very good - and very rich! I caramelized a can of sweetened condensed milk because it's better for your body than caramel (just look at the back of a jar of caramel! Not good!) The substitution worked marvelously. I just kept this in the freezer and served a few slices when people came over and we got dessert for several night's company out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this recipe exactly by the recipe except for the caramal sauce. It is one of the best frozen desserts I have ever had. Can fully recommend this one to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Everyone liked this a lot. With reviews saying this was too sweet, I made some minor changes. I doubled the crust (using only 1/3 cup sugar instead of 1/2), used a springform pan, omitted the nuts (hubby is allergic). I used 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream + tsp. vanilla whipped to a hard peak (whatever you call it) thus eliminating the need for cool whip (which is really sweet, sugar already added), folded it into already mixed 12 oz cream cheese + sweetened condensed milk. For the oatmeal portion I used 1/4 cup b. sugar not packed. I used less than a cup of smuckers butterscotch caramel topping (it's not two flavors, but combined in the jar) which is really sweet. I used a springform with 2 layers. I ended up using only 1/3 the oatmeal mixture, could have used 2/3. Think of an ice cream sundae and what toppings you'd like on it. If you like candy toppings like snickers or butterfingers smashed up, use those instead of the "brickle". If you prefer chocolate fudge topping, use that. The cream cheese/condensed milk/whipped cream is what the "ice cream" will taste like (it tastes better frozen with the topping on, than by itself unfrozen). Be careful, if you use a sauce/caramel/fudge that turns rock hard when frozen, you may be disappointed! If you don't like the taste of your topping, you will also be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very yummy. Very rich! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grant City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is very good! I only gave it 4 stars because it was suuuuper sweet. I love sweets more than the next person, but this got to be a bit much. My advice - take a small piece and off set the sweetness with a big glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda 'Machmiller' Kiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good, but very sweet. Will need to find a way to tone this down some on the weetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States