Butter Brickle Frozen Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was very good - and very rich! I caramelized a can of sweetened condensed milk because it's better for your body than caramel (just look at the back of a jar of caramel! Not good!) The substitution worked marvelously. I just kept this in the freezer and served a few slices when people came over and we got dessert for several night's company out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this recipe exactly by the recipe except for the caramal sauce. It is one of the best frozen desserts I have ever had. Can fully recommend this one to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Everyone liked this a lot. With reviews saying this was too sweet, I made some minor changes. I doubled the crust (using only 1/3 cup sugar instead of 1/2), used a springform pan, omitted the nuts (hubby is allergic). I used 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream + tsp. vanilla whipped to a hard peak (whatever you call it) thus eliminating the need for cool whip (which is really sweet, sugar already added), folded it into already mixed 12 oz cream cheese + sweetened condensed milk. For the oatmeal portion I used 1/4 cup b. sugar not packed. I used less than a cup of smuckers butterscotch caramel topping (it's not two flavors, but combined in the jar) which is really sweet. I used a springform with 2 layers. I ended up using only 1/3 the oatmeal mixture, could have used 2/3. Think of an ice cream sundae and what toppings you'd like on it. If you like candy toppings like snickers or butterfingers smashed up, use those instead of the "brickle". If you prefer chocolate fudge topping, use that. The cream cheese/condensed milk/whipped cream is what the "ice cream" will taste like (it tastes better frozen with the topping on, than by itself unfrozen). Be careful, if you use a sauce/caramel/fudge that turns rock hard when frozen, you may be disappointed! If you don't like the taste of your topping, you will also be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very yummy. Very rich! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grant City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is very good! I only gave it 4 stars because it was suuuuper sweet. I love sweets more than the next person, but this got to be a bit much. My advice - take a small piece and off set the sweetness with a big glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good, but very sweet. Will need to find a way to tone this down some on the weetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this dessert this past Sunday and I will make it over and over again. It is so completely simple, absolutely delicious and perfect on a hot Summer day in Arizona. True winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
REally Yummy. I usually dont like sweet things, but I didnt mind this and my husband loved it. It is so hot where we live and so its nice to have in the freezer and have a little to help cool off. I can only eat a little bit because it is rich, but at least it keeps you from eatting to much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This dessert is amazing!! I didn't make one change in the recipe. I plan on making this again in the near future. Its a tad rich... so make sure you cut into small slices. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious! This is great to keep on hand in the freezer for unexpected company. I've made this three times now and I have better luck with the flour/oat mixture if I bake it at 350* and keep a close eye on it. Ten minutes seems to work great. It starts to burn @ 400* for 10 minutes in my oven. I have tried it with both pre-chopped pecans and whole pecans broken into smaller pieces and I like the whole broken pecans the best because they toast better and they lend to the crunchiness in the layers. Using whole crushed graham crackers works better than the store-bought graham cracker crumbs also. My 14.4 oz. box came with three cellophane packs of graham crackers and one pack was the perfect amount. Do not press the crumbs firmly in the pan or you will have a hard crust. A light pat is all you need. The bake time of 6 minutes as stated in the recipe is perfect for the crust. I used a whole jar (17 oz.) of Mrs. Richardson's Caramel Topping, which is my favorite, just remember to save some to drizzle over each cut piece. It will take several hours to firm up so I suggest freezing overnight. My husband loves this recipe and gives this a five star! I also took it to work and one of the guys wouldn’t let me leave without sharing the recipe. Well loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States