Butter Bean Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
EFFING DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
excellent, a real surprise and easy. to the person who theirs was grainy, a custard pie always turns grainy if you mix it too much. by the way i hate butter beans but i love this and i used splenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I changed the cream to 1/4 cup soy milk, lessened the sugar to 1 cup, and omitted the salt and flour. This is a great, almost pumpkin tasting pie! This would have been way to sweet with all the sugar in the recipe for my tastes! Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie was simple to assemble. I also used a can of butter beans (I'm almost sure it was a 16 oz can) and the beans measured out to exactly a cup. I mashed them up after taking of the hulls and then heated them up a bit, thinking maybe they should be hot (or at least warm) like the ones would be had I boiled them. I baked this pie for at leas 45 minutes, the top of the pie was a beautiful brown and kind of thick (based on a toothpick insertion). I took it out thinking maybe the heat trapped in there would finish cooking it.. 20 mins later it was still pretty runny in the center when I tried cutting it, so I threw it back in the oven for another half hour or so. I took it out and the center seemed pretty well set. I am inclined to say that the baking time needs to be longer and maybe the crust that forms on top needs to be slit open for the center to set. The taste was pretty good. My daughter thought it was a little grainy, but nobody else really did. My son thought it was too sweet, which is saying something with the sweet tooth he has.. You want to serve up small slices because it is very rich and sweet. Also have either milk or ice cream on hand to cut through it a little. I will most likely make this pie again, since it does have the beans and everything, but I think I will experiment with the 1/2 &1/2, maybe using flavored or even eggnog? It is only 1/4 tsp.. a lot of vanilla though, maybe mix it up a bit with measurements and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I attempted this recipe with the substitution of a can of butter beans instead of making them from dry. It must not have been enough beans or something, because despite following the recipe the pie has not set at all. I'm not talking wiggly in the center--I'm basically going to have to pour it into a jar and use it as ice cream topping and eat the filling covered crust as some sort of cookie... It's so disgustingly sweet that I certainly can't eat it alone! I'm giving it 3 stars because maybe it was my problem for using the canned beans as a shortcut. FYI I used a 16 oz can of beans so I thought it would substitute, but maybe I should have bought two cans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made this with canned butter beans, which were very easy to hull (rinse them with water to speed up the process). The first time I made this, I had no cloves on hand, and substituted ginger. More recently, I tried this with a fruit pectin substitute for the butter, for a low-fat version. Both modifications have come out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is delicious. It's pretty rich though, better have some ice cold milk handy. The one thing I will change next time however is to reduce the amount of clove. It was a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Very tasty. Maybe a little too sweet for me so will make it with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Who would know that a bean pie could taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATTLEMC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was an "ok" tasting pie. For some reason I think mine was a bit grainy. Almost reminded me of a buttermilk chess pie, but with a grainy texture. I haven't really decided if I like it or not, but it is somewhat healthy..you know, with the beans and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States