Butter Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Wow, this was amazing!!! I did change quite a bit of things though... I cannot have gluten, so I omitted the saltine crackers and used crushed GF cornflakes instead. Also, we didn't have any butter beans so I used an equivalent amount of cooked, mashed lentils instead. After trying it both ways (lentils vs. butter beans) everyone liked the lentils much better! I also added a little diced green pepper and that REALLY enhanced the flavor, and I omitted the jalapeno pepper (don't like spice). I make this recipe ALL THE TIME, and we never get tired of it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe. It can get a little messy when cooking, as it's not "binded" well with crackers, so i now use fresh italian breadcrumbs, instead. You can also dip it in cornmeal if you want a bit of a crunchy outside. It's loaded with protein, and is delicious as a burger on fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Something different. Changes (of course): 1) Used black beans. 2) 1/4 cup bread crumbs instead of saltines 3) italian cheese blend instead of chedder (just because I didn't have cheddar) 4) 1 minced clove of garlic instead of powder 5) Baked for 8 minutes each side at 350°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brianna F.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These are fantastic! I omitted the cheese and jalepeno (my kids were eating as well), used fresh garlic and 1/4c. of bread crumbs instead of crackers. After I shaped the patties I dredged them in dried bread crumbs and let them sit in the fridge for several hours. Had no problems keeping them together in the pan and they are very pretty to boot. The best veggie burger I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! The first time I made them, I used butter beans. Then, when I went to the grocery store to buy ingredients to make them again, I bought lima beans by mistake. I made them with the limas and they were just as good! My husband liked them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
These were really good. I didn't have butter or lima beans in the house, so I used black beans instead. I added cayenne to the mixture for a little kick and topped the burger with taco sauce. Nice healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
i liked these alot, i think others were a little put off by the fact that they were made of beans, but they still ate them! i added alot more jalapeno and onion. also used breadcrumbs instead of cracker crumbs, because that is just what i had. have made these twice-- pay attention to your mixture, if it is not adherent enough you can always add another egg, or if too gooey add more crumbs. fried them in canola oil and served with ketchup. thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The burger's turned out really good but the cooking time is 6-8 mintues per side. That way they have a nice golden layer. A nice varation was adding pesto to them and not garlic powder but garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I'm amazed by some of the reviews of this recipe, where people say they don't like the butter bean burgers--especially if the authors have altered the original recipe (using lentil or black beans instead of butter beans), added ingredients (extra eggs or crackers/bread crumbs), or completely omitted ingredients (e.g. jalapenos) and complained the recipe lacks flavor. Others complained that the recipe yielded "mushy" burgers; perhaps it was BAKING them, instead of frying them as directed in the instructions. These reviews are without merit. I encourage you to try the recipe as it in its orignal form. I have made this several times following the directions. Friends, family and I and enjoy it tremendously. If you follow the recipe exactly as it is provided, you'll find a flavorful vegetarian burger that is slightly crispy on the outside and moist in the center. I think you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Good, but need to cook in a nonstick pan. Make them thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States