Butter Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
FAB! Now here's my verison: 1 (15 once) can butter beans 1/2 can Rainsed Black Beans 1/3 bread crumbs ur flavor choice 1/3 green peppers chopped 1/3 cup onion (white) 1/3 cup diced small celery 1/4 cup diced papaya 1/3 cup diced carrot (I purchased the shredded carrots and ran a knife across them) garlic powder/onion powder/ black pepper Mash beans with masher, add all the ingrediants one at a time while stiring them. Top with Mango chutney or eat plain. FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
great flavor, but too fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Was great my husband loved it.. did it just as it is!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreiswife

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Love love these! I have never made them with jalapenos in them and when I first started to make them I use bread crumbs last few times follow with Crackers as the Recipe calls for. If you add an Extra egg to the Mix and let the Patties set in the Fridge for about 2 hours ahead before frying they will not fall apart. Plus Hot sauce instead of the Japs are great with it too. I've been thinking of rolling them into Balls and frying in a deep fryer sometime to see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellah_Gunsmyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My Mom used to make these all the time using lefter over butter beans or field peas. They are quite tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were a nice vegetarian option. I used bread crumbs and served with garlic mayo. My meat-eating husband wasn't as happy with them as I was though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Really really tasty! Next time I may double the onion and jalapeno because I like spicy food. But still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. Burgers came out great. They are pretty floppy at first, but after a couple minutes in the oil, they hold their shape well. I thought they might burn, but 5 mins per side is pretty dead on. When done, the outside is a nice crispy texture (almost like the outside of a fried tenderloin), the inside is pretty mushy... but it's beans and it wasn't off-putting. They were not too spicy with the minced jalapeno either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Fantastically easy to make and delicious though sometimes they do tend to fall apart a little. Like a previous poster suggested, I dip mine in cornmeal before frying or baking. Both ways are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
So in all honesty, I'd give the taste a 5 and the texture a 2. I doubled the recipe and tried frying 1/2 and baking 1/2... neither batch stayed together :( but the taste is awesome! I use fresh garlic and added fresh parsley. Yum! Since I can't get it to stay together as a burger I think I'll double and bake as a veggie meatloaf from now on. You really can use any bean, cheese, or binder and it will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States