Butter Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This one is a keeper. I took some suggestions from other reviewers like using bread crumbs instead of crackers and coating them with breadcrumbs and letting them sit in the fridge for a few hours. Because of some digestion issues I have I omitted the jalapeno pepper and browned the onions before adding them. Just for fun I added a few dashes of liquid smoke. I have to stay away from fried foods so I put them in an iron skillet coated with nonstick spray in a 400 gas oven for ten minutes on each side. They turned out wonderful, with a slightly crunchy coating on the outside while moist and tender on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Just ok, we ate them as burgers but they no way compared to an actual hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I did make a few changes, mainly because I was trying to use things I had on hand: 1) 1/4th yellow bell pepper instead of jalapeno 2) 2 cans beans and 1 large onion 3) 2 large squares of crumbled plain shredded wheat instead of the crackers (just because they needed to be used and that's what I had) 4) seasoned with ground mustard and tumeric, salt/pepper 5) 2 eggs (and I'm glad I did, because they are still tricky to flip without falling apart) Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Think I will add oats grains or nuts to give more of a crunchy consistency rather than mashed consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was SO delicious! I also thought it might be bland, but no - quite flavorful. I actually omitted the cheese (lower fat), so I can imagine *with* the cheese it would be even better. I did also use a little cayenne pepper instead of the jalapeno, since I didn't have any. Still gave it a little heat. I will be using this recipe again, and may try freezing the patties for a make-ahead dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe, which I changed ever so slightly. I used bread crumbs instead of crackers, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and parmesan cheese. I also made my patties very thin and served them on French bread rolls. Really delicious-- my picky husband even thought so. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were way better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This was a little difficult to make because the of the texture of the paste. If you can manage for form it into patties and cook it without it falling apart or sticking to everything, it's really really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I've made these twice now and they are hands down the best vegetarian burgers I've found. They hold together very well, and are delicious. Instead of Saltines I used Triskets because that's what we had around the house and I figured they were a healthier option. I added an extra jalepeno the second time - they give it a great flavor. I hoped for a little kick, but they weren't spicy at all. My daughter requested these after I made them the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
mushy, had to make canned soup for my company:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States