Butter Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Ahh, the butter bean patty :) What can i say about those? lol, i didnt know what butter beans were until i went on a wild goose chase trying to find them at grocery stores and FINALLY coming across them in a CAN.. Believe the look on my face when i find them in a CAN and all along i was looking for dried beans called BUTTER BEANS! But at least after all the looking, the butter bean patty didnt let me down :) it was good and tasteful, i may have added a pinch more of seasonings, but all in all... 1 and a half thumbs up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I love the flavour - however they are incredibly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made these for my vegetarian sister-in-law at a family BBQ. they were really good! even some of the guys tried them and preferred them over a ground beef burger. will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a tasty burger, but I did have a hard time forming/keeping the patties together. I didn't fry them, I just brushed each one with some olive oil and baked it for 15 minutes at 400. Thanks for a nice alternative to the black bean burgers I've been making :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This sounded awesome and the pic looked so good....actually a disappointment!!! crumbled in the pan, flavor was so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These were very good! I used some seasoned bread crumbs instead of the crackers because I didn't have any. I also omitted the cheese because I was planning on topping these with some cottage cheese. It was a very nice little lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I saw all the 4 and 5 star ratings but was still skeptical. Tried these last night and they were quite good. The family loved them. I topped mine with mustard but the rest of the family topped theirs with chipolte ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sniatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I had a hard time getting the burgers to stay together. It was also a little oily for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These are so good that I've been craving them ever since I first made them. Our only issue with these was that "burger" is kind of a stretch... we tried to eat these on buns with all the burger fixins and they just squished out the side of the bun every bite we took. The taste was incredible though! It was a good knife and fork "burger," but next time I'll probably go bun-less! :) I might try half beans half lentils to see if that firms them up a little more. Update: Cooked down some dried lima beans and also cooked some lentils. So I made half and half burgers. YUM! I also froze the leftover burgers and today we got them out of the freezer and put them right in the hot oil. I actually burned them a little bit because I was afraid the middle wouldn't defrost, but they came out with a nice crispy cornmeal crust and hot insides. Super quick and easy if you make them ahead and go freezer-to-frying-pan! Update #2: I've played around with these so much and I've decided they're pretty much fool-proof. My favorite add-in is cooked brown rice. They give these some texture and stick-to-your-ribs-ness that is really good. I've never omitted the cheese, but I can't really taste it, so I think you could save yourself some calories and fat by taking it out. I simply love these burgers. It's a shame my husband doesn't feel the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Let me say, WOW! These are awesome and i'm not even a vegetarian. My hubby loves his meat but was asking for these burgers. Thanks for the recipe.Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States