Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Mmmmmmmmmm!!! Nice texture, soft and sweet buttery cookies that will melt in your mouth. I really liked this cookies, extremely easy and non-time consuming. I divided the dough into two pieces and rolled one batch in coarsely chopped pecans and the other in gourmet white sugar. They looked beautiful, just be careful NOT to handle this cookies until they have completely cooled, or they will crumble in your very hands. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing!!! Moshi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I skipped the nuts and put the dough in the fridge overnight. I rolled the dough into about 30 balls. I rolled half of the balls in sugar that is two different shades of green (light and dark). I rolled the other half in a cinnamon-sugar blend, then rolled them again in red sugar. They look really pretty and have a wonderful, buttery taste. One drawback-they are slightly crumbly-but not so much that you'd be worried about carrying them to someone's house (I wouldn't mail them though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Awesome! Just like I remembered from being a little girl. The perfect balance of sweetness. Mine weren't crumbly at all...I followed the recipe exactly as written...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina S
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My favorite cookie! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Really easy and delicious. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were good. I made several different cookies for a Christmas party and wanted to make these for my boss b/c she doesn't eat eggs. She and everyone else loved them. I made them again for Christmas day but used unsalted butter b/c thats what I had. I must say they tasted better with salted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
very nice! easy and quick to make, taste is just right! I left the pecans out and din't have confectioners sugar, so i rolled the steaming hot butter balls in sugar mixed with cinnamon, left them in there a bit so the sugar really sticks to the hot butter balls. did make the first time only half the batter. Tomorrow a whole batch goes out to my husbands work....it is that good! well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Wonderful simple recipe. I didn't have pecans, either, but it still was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These were tasty, but I wouldn't say exceptional. I had the dough in the fridge overnight and baked them the next day. I didn't find them crumbly at all. I'm not sure I'd make them again. Personally, its not a recipe I'd ask for if someone else had made them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I make them every year for christmas. I usually use finely chopped almonds insetad of pecans. I have had great results coating half of each warm ball in powered sugar then dipping the other half in melted chococate. I reccomend using powered corn sugar (bulk store), I find it doesnt melt as easily and stays more powdered. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States