Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to match my Granny's, which I lost long ago, and she is long gone. This one tasted EXACTLY like hers. Very pleased, and relieved that an heirloom recipe can once again be passed down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Clemons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
LOVED these. That perfect nutty-buttery taste....I toasted the pecans @ 350 for 10 min before chopping them as a previous reviewer had suggested. Definitely should do that...it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
very good cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe that was similar to a cookie I ate Salzburg last week made by an Austrian Grandmother and this came very close! Light, crispy, and buttery. It's impossible to eat just one! I used chopped walnuts and ground almonds since I live in a small town in Germany and pecans aren't as readily available. Everyone loved these. This recipe is officially on my Christmas cookie list to stay! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are delicious. I first toasted the pecans (350 degrees for 10 minutes) then chopped them fine in my food processor. I didn't have a problem with crumbling so this may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was very easy to complete. However, it only indicates to use butter. Thus, my confusion. So, I made two batches: in one I used margarine and the other real butter. I tend to use real butter while baking but was just not sure with this recipe. I found that the margarine tasted better and was less dry and flaky. Overall, very good tasting either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Wish I could give it 10 stars! Great flavor and easy to make...a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are great... so easy, little mess, nice texture, good flavor. Tip: Toast your nuts it's worth the extra time (350 for 10 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
these were just ok,easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
these are an excellent basic sugar cookie and extremely easy to make. wonderful light buttery flavor and texture. i didn't use pecans, but you can really do anything with this dough. i made a simple homemade frosting out of shortening, sugar, lemon juice and milk to put on top, then sprinkled with cookie decoration and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States