Busy Night Turkey Taco Soup with Avocado Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I followed the general idea of this recipe with a few changes. I used creamed corn, because that's what I had and I used a can of Rotel instead of salsa, again, what I had. And I used chicken. But I thought it was a nice soup. I served it with grilled cheese. I will be sure to keep this in my collection for quick dinners or to use left over chicken. I mad it with beef too, worked great! Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I feel a little like the odd man out after reading all the other positive reviews, but I wasn't crazy about this soup. I hoped the combination of ingredients would meld into something delicious, but it still just tasted like a bunch of canned stuff mixed together. I'm glad that so many others have enjoyed it, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We loved this soup! It tasted great, was a great way to use our leftover turkey and was so easy to make. I substituted black beans for the chili beans and simmered it in a slow cooker for several hours and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This was very easy and yummy. Instead of turkey I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. All my kids loved it. For those of you with picky kids who don't like 'chunks' blend the salsa in blender before adding. (I always do this to my salsa and there are no tomato or pepper chunks left behind by picky kids.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Good quick weeknight dinner. I cooked this in the crockpot. Added half a green pepper and used frozen corn instead of canned. Loved the "avocado cream"! It was good as a dip for tortilla chips also. Cilantro was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
love this recipe! make it for a dinner party of 12 and it was a huge hit! i tripled the recipe and used black beans instead of chili beans, i also added some fresh squeezed lime and taco seasoning and set out hot sauces on the side for those who wanted extra heat in their soup. i had bowls of guacamole, tortilla chips, and sour cream and everyone added what they liked. this recipe is so simple. it tasted great that day and the next day and since i had some left, i froze some and it reheated beautifully just like on the day i made it. i am making it again today because my teenage son keeps asking for it! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is excellent using chicken, pork, or beef as well as the original turkey version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This is an great recipie! I added some cumin to taste and that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This is my absolute favorite recipe for left-over turkey. It's very quick and easy. I usually use drained & rinsed black beans instead of the chili beans and I skip the sour cream/guacamole on the top since I prefer guacamole on the side with chips. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very yummy. I used chicken instead of turkey and omitted the sour cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States