Busy-Day Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
A healthier "Helper" alternative. This recipe is good as is. You know what your family likes, so definitely experiment with seasoning as well! I normally add worchestershire sauce , a dash of onion powder, celery seed, and whatever sort of garlic we have on hand. A dash of hot sauce never hurts either. The key is to simmer gently on medium low, keeping an eye out in case extra liquid is needed. (In which case, adjust seasoning in proportion) For a "saucier" style, add some tomato juice (about a half cup), and simmer uncovered the last ten minutes. This also helps to "coat" the ingredients and bind them together. Extra veggies or even beans can stretch serving sizes further, and using extra really makes this a one pot meal. The one adjustment I would make regardless is to basically soften the pasta and not cook it through or even al dente...letting the pasta's starch release into the dish as it finishes simmering with the other ingredients ties everything together, as well as making sure it does not "cook apart" or turn into pasta mush. Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very very good, easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Excellent flavor and texture. Love the veges and meat and balance of pasta. Sauce was perfection. Ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this recipe 3 days ago and it was GREAT! There are hardly any seasonings added to it, and yet it is naturally delicious. I made 5 different casseroles last month and was disappointed by most of them, but this dish is healthy and tasty! And you know what the greatest part is? My 3 year old son loves it too! The only downfall is that for me there was way too much chopping involved for it to be called, "Busy Day Dinner". I wouldn't make this again if I were having a busy day. Loved it though; very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candiceluvs2learn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
this is alot like goulash my mom made when i was little. today i needed a comforting mom meal. i wanted to spend some time in the kitchen so i browned the ground beef and let everything simmer on the stove for a couple hours adding v8 juice as it needed it. i added some garlic but followed the other ingredients exact. i added my cooked macaroni about 10 mins before we ate and i dusted the bowls with grated cheese. this was really good with a green salad and buttered bread. ill make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
So easy, healthy and yummy. Does need more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Ugron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I used can of diced tomatoes and since I didn't have tomato sauce I used some spaghetti sauce, so it didn't taste too "tomatoey" for us. I should have added more chili powder but I was afraid it would be too spicy. My husband added more to his bowl instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Simple, delicious, and very satisfying! I believe the key to making this recipe flavorful and delicious is to be sure to salt and pepper generously, to taste, while simmering. I omitted the tomato sauce, used ground turkey, a yellow pepper, and added just enough cumin to flavor, rather than the chili powder, and I made cornbread to accompany it. With a sweetness and tang, this 'stew' was fresh enough to serve on a very hot summer's day. I highly recommend this recipe and will absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This dish is a little too much tomato flavor for me. There is something missing. But it is fast and easy and the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Quick, easy, healthy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States