Busy Day Deer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I didn't have a green pepper so I used fresh mushrooms but green pepper would probably taste good also. This is what I did: First of all, I did not use the olive oil. When I told Grumpy it called for olive oil he told me not to do it, that you should always use butter when cooking venison. (Yeah, he's my venison "expert" so I have to listen to him!)I sauteed the mushrooms(would have done the same if I had peppers). When they were cooked down I removed the mushrooms from the pan and sauteed the venison. I added the mushrooms back to the pan when the venison was cooked, mixed in the soup mix with 3 cups of the water. I mixed the other 1/2 cup of water with 2 TBSP flour. I found this was not enough flour to thicken this to gravy, so I added a little less than 2 TBSP more flour with just enough water to make it smooth. You should always mix the flour with the cold liquid you are going to add to the hot boilng liquid in your pan to prevent lumps. Thanks for the recipe! It is great for a night when you don't have a lot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was good, I added diced potatoes. That made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I followed the steps in the review by Grumpy's Honeybunch (thank you, I've never thickened gravy without lumps successfully before now)and also omitted green peppers (yuck) and added fresh mushrooms. Overall this was good but I felt that the gravy was kind of lacking in the flavor department. Otherwise this was enjoyable and most importantly, fast. I will make it again and next time I may try marinating and/or adding different seasoning- something to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I too used the changes made by Grumpy's honeybunch but with one more change. I used Elk instead of Deer. I could not believe how tender the meat was. My husband who is also an avid hunter loved it. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Still tasted gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband loved this!!!! He said the gravy that it made was the best venison gravy he had ever had. I had to make a few alteration,s due to what I had on hand. I used a package of pepper and onion stirfry mix, so I browned the venison first, then added the stirfry, and I had no onion soup mix, so I added beef base, and added onion and garlic powder. He has been raving all night long about how good it was, and when will I make this again. Thanks so much for the keeper. PS. I have some venison that we canned I think I may try it with that. It is so tender, even before I put it in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had large steaks.. about an inch thick (size of both my hands laid flat) and I didn't have the soup it called for. I cut steak into 1/2 inch cubes, cooked with one med red onion and one white onion chopped, and cooked in 1 stick butter with 3 med/lg fresh garlic cloves. added 1 red and 1 yellow pepper roughly chopped and rough chopped thick mushrooms when meat was half done.. covered/simmered low about 10min (stirring a time or two). uncover and added cream of potato soup, cheddar soup, and one can of milk. the only seasoning I aded was about a tsp of fresh cracked pepper. I didn't need the flour since I used canned cream soup. it turned out nice and creamy and not gamey (cut into small pieces for the 'flavors' to go all the way through) We liked this the best of the venison recipes! Thank you for the suggestion :) (I rarely stick directly to a recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteIrishTiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was great... I have added this to my recipes for deet meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
responding to Kay's review!! To get rid of the gamey taste just soak meat in water, keep chan ging the water until it runs clear (no blood left) and gamey taste is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States