Busy Day Deer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I always just use a little oil, a little water for simmering, large onion, salt and pepper to taste and a little butter at the end to brown, but I wanted to try something different...This is a good recipe...however the cook time is way off. Raised in PA I've ate deer meat all my life and cooked it for 30 years...you can NOT get deer steak tender in 15 minutes. I slow fry mine in a non-stick skillet for at least 2 hours and brown it right before serving...so tender you can cut with a fork! Plus for those who said it still tasted "gamey"...use more onion...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made the version from Love2cook review. My wife and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milton Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Great, easy recipe, but it can be even easier. I did this in the crock pot (6-8 hrs. on low)too omitting the oil. For flavor I added 1 beef bouillion and 3/4 t. or so of winter savory, which helped bolster the flavor nicely. The meat was fall apart tender. To make the gravy, which there is alot of, just mix water and flour together til smooth and add to hot/boiling liquid. Great over mashed potatoes or egg noodles (my son hates mashed potatoes.) Thanks for a great easy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
my mother in law cans deer and I've been searching for a recipe to do it justice. I must say this was quite delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this very much! I am new to cooking deer meat, so I was happy this turned out well. I didn't use quite as much water as called for, and we added mushrooms. The meat was tender and had great flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My husband and I loved this. However,I did make a change. I didn't have a dry soup mix so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup, two spoonfuls of sour cream and a splash of milk. I also seasoned my meat with garlic, tony's and black pepper. This meal was quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
i have several picky eaters and all enjoyed this dish.. will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
responding to Kay's review!! To get rid of the gamey taste just soak meat in water, keep chan ging the water until it runs clear (no blood left) and gamey taste is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was great... I have added this to my recipes for deet meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had large steaks.. about an inch thick (size of both my hands laid flat) and I didn't have the soup it called for. I cut steak into 1/2 inch cubes, cooked with one med red onion and one white onion chopped, and cooked in 1 stick butter with 3 med/lg fresh garlic cloves. added 1 red and 1 yellow pepper roughly chopped and rough chopped thick mushrooms when meat was half done.. covered/simmered low about 10min (stirring a time or two). uncover and added cream of potato soup, cheddar soup, and one can of milk. the only seasoning I aded was about a tsp of fresh cracked pepper. I didn't need the flour since I used canned cream soup. it turned out nice and creamy and not gamey (cut into small pieces for the 'flavors' to go all the way through) We liked this the best of the venison recipes! Thank you for the suggestion :) (I rarely stick directly to a recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteIrishTiger

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States