Busy Day Deer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Great, easy recipe, but it can be even easier. I did this in the crock pot (6-8 hrs. on low)too omitting the oil. For flavor I added 1 beef bouillion and 3/4 t. or so of winter savory, which helped bolster the flavor nicely. The meat was fall apart tender. To make the gravy, which there is alot of, just mix water and flour together til smooth and add to hot/boiling liquid. Great over mashed potatoes or egg noodles (my son hates mashed potatoes.) Thanks for a great easy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
my mother in law cans deer and I've been searching for a recipe to do it justice. I must say this was quite delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this very much! I am new to cooking deer meat, so I was happy this turned out well. I didn't use quite as much water as called for, and we added mushrooms. The meat was tender and had great flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My husband and I loved this. However,I did make a change. I didn't have a dry soup mix so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup, two spoonfuls of sour cream and a splash of milk. I also seasoned my meat with garlic, tony's and black pepper. This meal was quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
i have several picky eaters and all enjoyed this dish.. will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
responding to Kay's review!! To get rid of the gamey taste just soak meat in water, keep chan ging the water until it runs clear (no blood left) and gamey taste is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was great... I have added this to my recipes for deet meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had large steaks.. about an inch thick (size of both my hands laid flat) and I didn't have the soup it called for. I cut steak into 1/2 inch cubes, cooked with one med red onion and one white onion chopped, and cooked in 1 stick butter with 3 med/lg fresh garlic cloves. added 1 red and 1 yellow pepper roughly chopped and rough chopped thick mushrooms when meat was half done.. covered/simmered low about 10min (stirring a time or two). uncover and added cream of potato soup, cheddar soup, and one can of milk. the only seasoning I aded was about a tsp of fresh cracked pepper. I didn't need the flour since I used canned cream soup. it turned out nice and creamy and not gamey (cut into small pieces for the 'flavors' to go all the way through) We liked this the best of the venison recipes! Thank you for the suggestion :) (I rarely stick directly to a recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteIrishTiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband loved this!!!! He said the gravy that it made was the best venison gravy he had ever had. I had to make a few alteration,s due to what I had on hand. I used a package of pepper and onion stirfry mix, so I browned the venison first, then added the stirfry, and I had no onion soup mix, so I added beef base, and added onion and garlic powder. He has been raving all night long about how good it was, and when will I make this again. Thanks so much for the keeper. PS. I have some venison that we canned I think I may try it with that. It is so tender, even before I put it in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Still tasted gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States