Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent! My husband actually thanked me for being such a good cook...all because of this recipe! So I do not know why some people have been downing this recipe, it's great. I made it as written except I used more health concious brown rice and I added about 1/2 a cup more rice and water. Also someone suggested putting the mushroom juice in the recipe instead of draining. So with the mushroom juice, I did only add 1 cup of water. I served Margaret Holmes turnip greens with the casserole. It was easy and went well together. Oh yeah, some people are mixing the onion soup mix in with the rest of the casserole and I would not recommend that...the soup mix is great on top, it makes the chicken taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Recipw was season good I mixed the onion mix with rest of the ingredients....Came out to mushy. The last 10 minutes I uncovered the dish to let dry out the rice. Maybe use only I can of cream of chicken soup next time. I substituted the cream of celery for cream of chicken soup. Mixing the onion soup mix into the main ingredients turned the color of rice mixture brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy dish and really yummy! Chicken wasn't dried out at all. I've always had trouble finding a recipe where the chicken wasn't overcooked. This is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe, but not fantastic. My fiance liked it, but didn't love it. I tried adding some cayenne pepper based on recommendations, but even with only a little bit, it was out-of-place. Fiance also thought it was on the bland side, like what a lot of reviewers said, even though I added more garlic than what was called for, a handful of grated cheese, and some frozen veggies. I also mixed half of the onion soup packet in with the rice mixture. Our suggestion for next time is sundried tomatoes for some flavor. But the rice was smooth and creamy, a definite comfort food that I'm sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This turned out to be a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
great recipe! always what i turn to when i'm out of almost everything, i always seem to have these ingredients left! only thing i change is add extra garlic (since i'm obsessed with it) and add whatever veggies i have in the fridge at the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe with record short prep time! I find it a bit too salty with just the canned and powdered soups -- low-sodium soup choices would not detract from the dish at all! I used fresh mushrooms, a wild/brown rice blend, cut the water in half (because of the water in the mushrooms), and added a half tsp of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It was great. My 2 year old loved it. I think next time I will make the necessary changes to add more rice (my family love rice) Other than that this recipe was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It was good, made as directed but it seemed to be missing some seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This recipe did not turn out at all like the photo, really disappointed with this casserole. Rice was good, chicken was bland. Considering all the good reviews this got, I thought it would be a good recipe to try, but this was terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States