Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I read some of the other comments, about being too bland, too dry, & too salty. So here's what I did: I had to use what I had available, so... I mixed the soups, added 1 small onion- chopped, 2 large fresh mushrooms-chopped, sprinkled in a little garlic powder (sorry, didn't measure) then I added 1 c. rice & 2c. milk. I put that in the pan. I added 1/4 bag of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, carrot mix and 1/4 bag of frozen red, yellow, & green peppers. I figured, as they "thawed", it would add extra moisture. I added the chicken breasts. I can't have salt, so I sprinkled the top with onion powder & pepper. After it baked a few minutes, I spooned the soup over the chicken breasts, to help keep it moist. The only problem there was the rice that landed on top of the chicken was a little crunchy! lol. Other than that, it was creamy & delicious! My husband, who doesn't like chicken breasts, went back for seconds and couldn't wait for me to heat it back up today! After dinner, I diced up the remaining chicken breasts and stirred it back in. It may have been a little better for the rice if I had used 2 1/2 c. of milk. To make this even easier, you could use left over chicken diced up, or even easier still, use canned chicken breast. Over all: my family loved this meal, it was creamy, healthy, delicious! I know I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Overall, this was a very good recipe. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, but I sauteed the chicken first, added fat free milk instead of water, and put about half of the onion mix into the rice mixture since previous reviews said it was too salty with the full packet. It came out creamy and delicious, my family really like it too. My only complaint was that it was a little bland, it needs a little "kick" from something, I'll have to experiment next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Quick Recipe, but would recommend adding milk and extra rice. Check about half way through cooking and add water if necessary. Even with the extra milk the rice mixture was drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Awesome and versatile recipe!!! I added green and red peppers in place of the mushrooms and sauteed onions and garlic with the chicken breast.I also added shredded cheese to the rice/soup/peppers mixture. It was gone in an instant! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden Valley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
good taste but chicken was overcooked using the time frame given in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I gave this a 5 because it is a very simple recipe. That makes it soo easy to sub ingredients to your taste! I used a V8 Butternut Squash soup and some chicken broth instead of the 'cream of's, left out the mushrooms(preference), and added celery for some, but not too much, crunch. Only baked it for about 45 mins. The rice still came out too soft, but the flavor was awesome! Perhaps I'll cook it only 30 mins next time for this variation. This will be in my recipie box for sure... and I can't wait to try numerous flavor variations! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very Easy to make and pretty tasty. I used one can of cream of celery and one can of cream of chicken. Only complaint is that the dish is a little on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Not a family fave in this house. Kids and husband refused to eat it. The smell overpowered the entire 1st floor and my clothes. I ate it. It was very salty because of the dry soup mix. :( On the bright side, it was very easy to make...I just won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I hate to be a contrarian, but we didn't really like this recipe. Sure, it was easy, but -- as my husband said -- it tasted like we were eating the straight soup mix. I may try this again and mix the soup mix into the rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mathews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I made this for the kids and it was a no go. the only reason they ate it was because they were starving from being at the field all night. there were PLENTY of leftovers. Never again with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States