Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I skipped the garlic & pepper, but used 1 cup Fat Free/Low Sodium chicken broth instead of water. This made for a rich chicken flavor through/out the dish. I also cooked it for 2-1/2 hours, allowing the rice to soak up more flavor and to cook completely. Chicken was nice and moist. This dish received rave reviews by family who is familiar with the dish as listed per recipe. They claimed it was much better with my alterations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Love this recipe. It's so easy to make and turns out delicious. I add a 1/4 tsp of Thyme to mine and real garlic (one clove).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Not good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Quick to put togehter but definitely not exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was great, easy prep and clean up. I am sure that it is good just the way it is. Being a farm wife and mother of 4 I don't always have everything I need when it comes time to wip supper up and we live 20 min from the store. So here is what I did. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom 1 can of chicken gravy, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tea of mustard (I seen on another review) Brown rice I did not have instant so I cooked it about 3/4 of the way first, I only used about 3/4 of onion soup mix a pinch of garlic pinch of salt 1/2 tea hot shot pepper and after 45 min I pulled the foil off and added 2 cups of cheddar cheese baked another 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Missouri, USA
Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
It was good, but a bit bland. I changed it by doubling the rice, using 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. This kept everything moist. I also used 1/2 tsp each of lemon pepper, garlic salt (with parsley) and 1/4 tsp of black pepper. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was ok. The onion soup mix made it way too salty and I thought the taste was overwhelming. I have better 'go to' recipes that work well on busy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It's a mystery to me why this recipe is so highly rated. I consider myself a decent cook, and this was a total flop. First of all, the cooking time is off.. My rice was hard and crunchy after the noted time. I had to cook for an add'l 30 minutes on increased temp. Secondly, its so bland! There is absolutely NO flavor.. The rice absorbs all of the soup, and there is no flavor left. There is no creaminess- Its just mushy rice with chicken.. Sorry! I am staring at it trying to figure out how I am going to re-coop this dish for dinner... ( I even added extra bite size vegetables before cooking.. )- Just isn't working for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
why 3 stars? + convenient, easy to make, but B-L-A-N-D!!!!!! as written -- you'll need to jazz it up! Add LOTS more garlic powder or a couple minced garlic cloves, easy! Adding sauteed (or in a pinch, dried minced onion) is necessary, too. I'd also reccomend adding 1/2-3/4c milk to the mix. I liked the results of chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, pre-browning it in a pan & mixing the whole thing together & cooked for about 1 hr 15 min. Still, needs a lot more help to even become SATISFYING & Tastey. If you try to jazz it up, don't add a pinch of something, add a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was really great! My only complaint is that my white rice wasn't soft and fluffy like I prefer. It was actually still crunchy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States