Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is fantastic. I made a couple small changes. I used milk instead of the water (makes it creamier) and I threw some shredded Cheddar cheese on top when it was just about done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for my son and tweaked it with more seasoning. I left out the onion soup mix, far to much salt. I also used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom. They chicken was moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I remember this from childhood. I just couldn't remember how much liquid to add. My receipe is a little different. I use less milk, instant rice and 1/2 cup of red wine. It turns out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Great "comfort" food with the rice in the mix. Our family really enjoyed this casserole. I added frozen baby carrots and green beans to the soup mixture to make it a "one dish" meal. Also, the chicken breast I used were FROZEN so I set the oven to 350 degrees. Everything turned out great - the chicken, rice, and veggies. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The rice around the edges gets a little crisp. May need more liquid. I also used fresh mushrooms I had sauteed in butter. Overall, a popular dish in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
after reading reviews for this recipe, i amended it a lot. i used 2 cups of rice, added 1/4 cup white wine and an extra cup or water and did just cream of mushroom, plus garlic powed, celery salt and a mix of dried peppers to spice it up a bit. oh, i also used canned white chicken meat (2 cans) instead of the chicken breasts since i didn't have any. i didn't have chicken soup mixture, so i used this stuff i have called 'adobo completo' for seasoning, but it ended up being too salty (my fault!), so i tried to rescue it w/ some brown sugar. my hubby still liked it, but i am a tough critic and thought it too salty. i will cook this again and not add too much salty seasoning and it will be just fine! i give the recipe a 4 b/c it is indeed simple, but there were quite a few tweeks that needed to be made to perfect it... thanks for the starting point though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is a good building block recipe. I would not make this again as is. It is bland, and I even used an entire packet of onion soup mix, paprika, some chipotle powder. I would make it again with a Mexican variation: add diced green chiles, season the chicken with taco seasoning, cover with shredded cheese and serve with a dollop of sour cream. Maybe even mix salsa in with the rice. Easy to make though -- customize it to your tastes and preferences and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Any recipe that makes my hubby emit an "Mmm" after the first bite, gets a good rating from me! I did make a couple of changes, though, which is why I'm only giving the recipe, as written, 4 stars. I didn't have any cream of celery, so I used a can of cream of mushroom and left out the mushrooms in the recipe. Also, after reading the reviews about the casserole being bland, I used more than a pinch of garlic powder and also added a little reduced sodium seasoned salt. I sprinkled a bit of the seasonings on top of the chicken as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. I had been looking for a good chicken and rice recipe. I did not add the can of mushrooms or the fresh garlic. I did add garlic powder. Also, I added in a can of cream of chicken and subsituted chicken broth for the water. It turned out great. Thanks alot for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was really simple and great for a busy day. I made this about every other week when my son was first born because it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States