Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was so easy to make and very delicious. My family and I loved it!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a dish I've been making since I first moved out on my own. Extremely comforting and can be doubled/tripled depending on who shows up to your home to feed. You can also make this with two cans of tuna or leftover turkey. Any soup you have on hand'll work as well. Have leftover cooked veggies from the night before, throw 'em in! A rind of cheese you need to use? What the heck, throw that in, too. I add in just a spoonful of sour cream for a little creamier taste/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I'm giving this recipe a five not because if prepared as is, it would be excellent, but because it is a great base recipe for chicken and rice. I've toyed with chicken and rice for a long time, with mixed results. This recipe made a great base recipe to which one should add ingredients that they like. I added some broccoli, cheddar cheese, and a ritz cracker crust to the top of mine. Our family enjoyed it and I liked the taste of the onion soup mix. This will be my base recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes... I seared & seasoned my chicken breast b4 I cut them up, used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of celery soup, the onion soup packet and 1/2 way cooked my rice so that it wouldn't used up all of the liquid, cut the cooking time in half & about 15 mins before it was done i sprinkled bread crumbs on top and drizzled some melted butter... the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. I did a few things differently: I only used 4 chicken breasts and I sprinkled half of the soup mix over the chicken and the other half, I mixed into the rice mix. I think that distributed the sodium of the soup better, it wasn't too salty at all...I also used lower sodium mushroom soup, so that helped. I baked the whole thing for 75 minutes and the chicken came out perfect and the rice was done on the verge of being a little overdone. This was so simple and I will definitely make again when I don't feel like cooking but can't afford to eat out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was really good, and very quick to put together. I made a couple of changes (who doesn't?) I used chicken breast tenders and pre-cooked my rice to reduce the cooking time. Even so, it seemed a little dry to me, so I added some milk to the rice/soup/soup mix mixture to thin it out a bit, and grated some Gouda cheese on top. It was a big hit with my daughter's fiance, who LOVES anything made with rice. One warning...you will have some WICKED onion breath the next day, due to the onion soup mix. Since we'd all eaten the same thing, nobody in my family cared, but I wouldn't want to go out in public too soon after eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I didn't expect much out of this casserole but it actually turned out pretty good. I only used 3 chicken breasts and about half of the onion soup packet. I also used cream of broccoli soup in place of the cream of celery soup. Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Really easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I grew up with my mom making this meal and it is just too good! I have a very picky hubby so yes, I did make some modifications. First off I browned the chicken breasts in olive oil on high heat (just my preference), I only used cream of celery soup (he hates mushrooms), did not add the can of mushrooms, and used the veggie soup mix instead of the onion mix. Oh, I sprinkled seasoning salt on top before I baked it. It was a comforting meal on a cold rainy night, and best of all my picky guy loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I know this recipe as "Chicken Don't Peek"!! The best to use is bone-in chicken pieces-breasts and thighs work best. I use 3 cans of mushroom soup, with 1 3/4 cans of water poured around the chicken, to 2 cups of rice. I bake it in a greased roaster pan with lid. RESIST the urge to check on it!! Keep the oven closed for the entire time! I also increase the cooking time by about 15 mins. The rice is creamy, and the chicken is moist. If only they could make a reduced salt, onion soup mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States