Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Wasn't bad, but we weren't that into it. That being said, it might have been user error, so I wouldn't be opposed to trying it again. I left the fat cap on the brisket, so I'm sure that helped with any dryness. It was still in a neat strip since I cooked it with that side up, so I cut it off before shredding meat back into the sauce before serving. I had to add the very outer edge of fat back in because that is where the spices were on that 1/2 of the meat. Used only 2# brisket, but by accident didn't decrease the amount of rub (so that might have been problem #1). Also accidentally forgot to rub with liquid smoke 1st before dry rub (so that might have been problem #2). Cooked exactly in time stated. I only used 1/2 the BBQ sauce & worst mix (which is where I wound up putting the smoke after I realized I goofed). The flavor was pretty intense... too saucy...too spicy for the kids but they managed to eat. I really was busy doing other things in the kitchen (canning), so this was a quick enough & simple enough way to get dinner on the table when I knew I wouldn't feel like preparing dinner after a day in the kitchen. Like I said, it might have been a combination of factors, plus a really spicy/smoky bottled sauce... I would try again, but maybe a sweeter bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
this was not to our taste at all. I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and followed the recipe to the letter but the entire thing is in the trash can, minus a few bites. It had a very bitter taste and the smokiness was overwhelming. A complete waste of a lot of food and a lot of money. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Obviously you can make this as spicy as you want depending on the type of BBQ sauce. If you are counting your pennies you can buy discounted pot roast instead of brisket. It costs half as much. We seasoned it, put it in the crocket and then the fridge to save time in the morning. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Well I followed the recipe exactly. I found and find Brisket very stringy and tough. The flavor is great but the cut of meat is not my choice. I will choose a different cut of meat when making this again. Three stars for flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We are retired and live in Costa Rica where the beef is grass fed, almost no fat. This recipe is awesome for us. No trimming and done just as Shannon suggests. Marinating over night really adds to the flavor and ease of preparing, pop it in the cooker at 4AM and it is ready for a truly awesome lunch. Thanks Shannon for a really great BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caliente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
It was ok. I think it had too much thyme. So next time I am going to substitute dill weed instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llongoria54
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Thanks for the great recipe! I had one and lost, very similar . Only found it interesting you can marrinate then cook it wrapped in foil in the slow cooker! Now they have the liners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this once before and received rave reviews from my husband (not my son, but he doesn't care for spicy things) and just made it again this week and it was delicious! My husband said it is the best brisket he's ever had, including what he's had at restaurants. He bragged to the guys at work about it. He told me to "please don't ever lose that recipe"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was a hit for my daughter's graduation party. My mom will be making it for her block party next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Amazing!!! This turned out so good. All the spices combined with the liquid smoke and bbq sauce. My goodness! Super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States